Two Special Burgundy Reds

I had the good fortune to try a couple of more red Burgundy wines when I stopped by Elie Wine Company in Birmingham, Michigan. Once I get over a major case of wine envy after walking up and down the aisles, I can get down to some tasting, but of course, as is my wont, I do have to greet the proprietor to let him know that I appreciate his notices. Since I am not wealthy, I realize that there are some wines totally beyond my scope and pocket book, but on occasion I can at least taste some wines. When one thinks of red Burgundy one immediately thinks of Pinot Noir, at least I do, and this was the case. The two wines that I tasted were from Domaine Odoul-Coquard and they are on their fourth generation of family winemakers. The Domaine owns eight and a half hectares of property spread out among Morey-Saint-Denis, Gevrey-Chambertin, Chambolle-Musigny, Vougeot, Vosne-Romanée and Nuit-Saint-George and from these sites they produce seventeen different labeled wines.


The Domaine Odoul-Coquard Vosne-Romanée 2014 was a very serious Pinot Noir with a good rich color and a decent nose that one would expect from this grape. The wines from this district originally went by the name Vosne, but they appended the second part over the years in honor of their greatest climate La Romanée. The winery starts some of their wines in Stainless Steel or Enamel vats and then transfers the juice to French Oak to be aged for somewhere between fifteen to eighteen months.


The last wine that I tried that day was also a very serious wine. The Domaine Odoul-Coquard Morey-Saint-Denis 1’er Cru Clos la Riotte 2014. Morey-Saint-Denis was originally marketed as either Gevrey-Chambertin or Chambolle-Musigny, their two adjoining neighbors. Clos la Riotte is one of the larger Premier Cru vineyards and Domaine Odoul-Coquard has basically a monopoly on this property, but they donate a third of the crop back to the commune for special events to be used throughout the year. I wish every Pinot Noir could have this flavor and then I would be a very happy man, but that is why it is lauded and has been for decades.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

