A Cab and a Petite Sirah

I am sure that most people must think that I am really strange, there I am at a wine tasting and I keep my glassful of wine, until they empty a bottle and then I take the bottle and the glass to my little impromptu photography studio with a bland piece of white paper in the background to take a photograph. I guess I do look pretty odd, but it makes me happy and the wine has a little longer to breath, before I taste it. At least that is my story and I will stick with it. Some of the regulars are getting used to me a D. Vine Fine Wines.


The last two wines of the evening’s tastes were both from Napa Valley. The Heritance Cabernet Sauvignon 2012 was from Palm Bay International/A Taub Family Company, and the Taub family has been in the wine business since just after Prohibition ended. The name Heritance is an amalgamation of Heritage and Inheritance as their web site proclaims. This is a wine that is 94% Cabernet Sauvignon, 4% Merlot and 2% Petit Verdot and the winery uses fruit that has been harvested from St. Helena, Yountville, Oakville and Rutherford including grapes from the Beckstoffer Georges III Vineyard. The wine is aged for eighteen months in French oak. It had a full body and most pleasant finish and I think it could use some additional cellaring, maybe another five to ten years.


The last wine of the evening was very impressive to me, but then I am partial to big wines. The Retro Cellars Elevation Howell Mountain Petite Sirah 2012 was a great wine from Mike and Kara Dunn, and Mike is the son of Randy Dunn, so there is some great wine making in his genes. This wine is ninety percent Old Vine Petite Sirah and the balance is Syrah. Sixty percent of the grapes harvested come from the Park Muscatine Vineyard which was established in the 1890’s, hence the claim of Old Vines. The wine was aged for thirty months in all new French oak and it had a big bold taste and a great finish. My kind of wine for a fine winter meal and I think it could handle ten to twenty years in the cellar and still be a powerhouse. Everyone that asked my opinion, this was the wine that I touted, clearly from an innocent bystander opinion. We were having such a good time, that I had to remind the staff that I had to pay for the tasting, but it was well worth the investment.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Cab and a Petite Sirah

  1. Oz's Travels says:

    What is strange about an impromptu studio? Sounds like a good idea to me.

Leave a Reply

