Another Great Chardonnay

Here we were in Bay City for a board meeting and after the lunch break, people went on their ways for the afternoon. There was a small golf tournament for the members that is highly popular, but I haven’t golfed since college and that was during the days of Richard M. Nixon. Some of the people went antiquing, my Bride was on her computer and phone catching up on work and I did some writing. Afterwards we went and explored the downtown area and got a good walk in as well. Then my Bride went to get dressed for the dinner and I meandered into the bar.


The bar was just off of the lobby of the hotel and across from their Riverfront Grille. As I walked in to see if there was anyone that I could join for a drink, I spotted our gracious host from the night before having a glass of Kendall-Jackson Vintner’s Reserve 2015, probably the most popular and best-selling Chardonnay in the country for several decades. It was a good choice for a wine that could be bought by the glass. The wine has aged on the lees for seven months in a mix of French and American oak barrels. This particular wine carries a California AVA, because the fruit is harvest from Monterey, Santa Barbara, Mendocino and Sonoma Counties and it has a taste that is very similar year after year, and people appreciate it. Kendall-Jackson is also great at advertising their wines, especially this one.


I bellied up to the bar, and asked for their wine list to see if there was anything that caught my eye, because I wasn’t sure what wines would be served during the dinner later in the evening, so I thought I would make the most of it. There was the perfect Chardonnay to share with my friend, and if my Bride gets down soon enough, she could enjoy some as well. They had Cakebread Cellars Chardonnay 2015 by the bottle, but not by the glass; and what is a mere bottle between friends? Cakebread Cellars has been around since 1973 and they make a wonderful Chardonnay as well as the other wines that they offer. This wine is all Napa fruit, with ninety percent from Carneros. They age this wine for eight months on the lees in a mix of French and American oak for a most pleasant experience. My Bride eventually made it to the bar to join us for a glass before dinner.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Great Chardonnay

  1. I heard Cakebread Chard is great indeed. Nice post. CHeers

Leave a Reply

