Two Wines on a Humid Day

I look out at what is normally a busy main street that has been closed off to traffic for the Wyandotte Art Fair. I am not sure how art fairs thrive in other states, but Michigan is very pro-art fair, though this one is more slanted to crafts as compared to main-stream art, which is fine and it is one of the largest in the state. I of course, for the most part am working inside of the store instead of contributing to the street fair for the store that I help out. Even semi-retired I have retail in my blood and am working a bit more to help them out. The first two days were very humid and we even saw some rain on the first day, and thankfully for all concerned it only rained before the actual show (and store) officially opened up and in case you are curious I have refrained from eating at any of the street vendors and prefer dining in any of the established restaurants in the downtown area. I worked a little later, but I knew that I had some free time before I would see my Bride, so I decided some wine was in order.


The first wine that I tried was Luis Pato Maria Gomes 2014 from Barraida, Portugal. Luis Pato is considered an innovative winemaker and he is also credited for bringing some fame to the Barraida district of Portugal, he is known for his use of Baga and Maria Gomes. Maria Gomes is the Portuguese name for a grape that is also known as Fernao Pires and this was a first for me.  This wine is basically Maria Gomes with a touch of Sercialinho (Sercial) and is fermented in Stainless Steel and bottled young. As one who shies away from describing wines, since this wine was out of my realm I will mention a few personal observations. The wine had a beautiful golden hue, a very soft nose, a touch of lemon and some spiciness and a very short finish, but it was just what I needed on a humid day, no reds for me at the moment.


The other wine that I tried was Azur Vineyards Rosé 2015 from Napa Valley. The winery was named after the Cote d’Azur where the three top Rosé regions of France are located. The winemaker Julian Fayard trained at Chateau Smith-Haut-Lafitte and Chateau Lafitte-Rothschild and his first bottling was released in 2009. The wine is pure Syrah and he produced eight-hundred cases of this wine and Napa is not considered a Rosé area and the fruit was harvested in Yountville and the Sierra Foothills. This wine was a bit more refreshing with a pretty soft pink, a soft nose and a decent finish, just what I look for from a Rosé wine.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

