Two More from The Caller

As the old commercial goes “when it rains, it pours” and that can describe the missives that I receive on occasion from The Caller. He is always on the look-out for big wines, not the ones to break the wallet, but full bodied, as that is what he enjoys in all of his drink selections. He has also been discovering the many new distilleries that are popping up, as he is a man of discerning tastes. I really think he only sends me photos of the wines that float his boat.


The first wine that he sent me a photo of, not a full bottle (I may add) is Arcadian Stolpman Vineyard Syrah 2007. The Stolpman Vineyard is recognized by many wineries as a place for one to get Syrah, and they are in the Santa Ynez Valley, part of the much larger Santa Barbara County AVA in California. Arcadian Winery is one of the unique wineries that own no vineyards, but they have some great long-term contracts with outstanding vineyards. They are also known for extended aging periods in their barrels, as their wines usually debut much later compared to others in the area. They are never in a rush and that is a good thing.


The other wine that he sent me a photo of was one that surprised me, but I must presume that someone touted him on it, as it is a wine not often seen here. Thurston Wolfe Zephyr Ridge Petite Syrah 2012 is one of those finds that The Caller gets at times. Zephyr Ridge is an area in the Horse Heavens Hills AVA, a subzone of the Columbia Valley in Washington State. The winery was established in 1987 and they were not on my radar. This particular wine was aged for twenty-six months in new and used American Oak, and that tells me that they were constantly checking it, to make sure that it was perfect before bottling. There were only two-hundred-ninety-seven cases of this wine made, so I think The Caller found himself a real catch. I shall wait for his next message or I know that I will see him in a couple of weeks.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

