Lost Wine Stories

I was trying to find some items that would remind of wine stories, and as I was going through a box of matchbooks, I found a recurring theme, that is kind of sad. Some people probably think it is silly that we have all of these relics of days gone by, but I enjoy looking at them and remember with a smile on my face the meals and the wine. Alas, my Bride, does not really recall many of the places that we have gone to, until she reads my article sometimes. I found some matchbooks that were not mine, so I know that they were from my Bride, before we met.


I amassed some of them that were from Manhattan and it speaks volumes about an institution that is still in business back in the days when matchbooks were a common way for a restaurant to advertise. I just long to know what great meals and wines she may have had back then, though I can guarantee that that the meals consisted of seafood and white wine, because until we met, that is what she always dined on. The ones that are still around are like the Rainbow Room in the Rockefeller Center.  Though as I think back, I did partially write about her dinner at the Rainbow Room, but it was only a hazy memory of a Chardonnay and a Filet of Sole.  Fraunces Tavern on Pearl and Broad Street where General Washington bid farewell to his troops. Via Quadronno famed for their Italian food on the Upper Eastside at 73’rd and Madison. Le Grenouille that famed French restaurant known for their cuisine and their floral arrangements on 52’nd Street between Fifth and Madison. Oh, the meals that she must have had without me.


Then I look at some of the restaurants that are no longer around, like the famed Luchow’s the famed German restaurant in East Village. Rosie O’Grady’s which may have moved or now owned by others. Café San Martin in Midtown, one of the old standby red sauce Italian places that were haunts for years. The Coach House in Greenwich Village just off Washington Square, which is now the site of another famous restaurant. A couple of the others I claim no knowledge of, and my brain is filled with the useless information that makes my writing so much easier. I can easily say that my Bride probably spoiled me more, than in reverse, plus she has always been more open to dishes that I may shy away from. The meals that she had, may make me weak in the knees and more so, what wonderful white wines may she have had, that she may not even be aware that they were as famous as some of the eateries. Well time for a glass of wine and for me to ponder what I have missed.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lost Wine Stories

  1. Pingback: 🌏😇🎻🎻🎶❤🕯📸🏮🌏🐸🐟🐳🐚🐙🕊🌷⚘🌹🍇🍇🍇☘🍀🍸🍹🍷🍻🍺🍽🍶🍾🍾🍾🍾🍾🍾🍾 | Site Title

Leave a Reply

