Two Malbecs

Some times without any forethought one encounters a couple of wines that are of the same grape. Malbec started off in the Cahoors region of France, ended up as one of the grapes for blending in Bordeaux and then took off around the world. It has acquired much more of a cachet today as compared to when I first started enjoying wines. I am going to discuss a couple of wines that were complimentary pours before a couple of wine tastings that I attended at D.vine Fine Wines not far from my home.


The first wine was a bit of a surprise for me and a delightful one at that. Les Jamelles Malbec Cepage Rare 2015 was from the Languedoc-Roussillon region of France, and the term Cepage Rare just means rare grape variety and I guess it is an homage to how it is part of the Bordeaux blend of grapes. This wine carries the Pays d’Oc IGP designation which was formally Vin de Pays d’Oc, which is basically the entire Languedoc-Roussillon region and the designation was changed to make it more in line with the wine rules of European Union and their terminology. This designation is the middle of the road between Vin de Table and the AOC that France is known for. This wine is made from two vineyards of Les Jamelles that have thirty-year old Malbec vines and the aged in oak, with ten percent new. I really enjoyed this wine and it is a very affordable bottle of wine and I guess that makes it even better.


The second wine that I will discuss is Casarena Estate Malbec 2014 from Casarena Bodega y Vinedos in Argentina. Malbec is the king of grapes in Argentina and this wine is from the sub-region of Lujan de Cuyo which is part of the largest wine region Mendoza. I really could not find out much additional information about this wine and while it was good, it was not as big and bold that I look for in a Malbec, but that is just me. When I think of a Malbec, I think of a steak, so for this wine, perhaps a steak barbequed in the backyard in a more informal setting.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

