Two Full Bodied Reds

It was the end of the wine tasting for the evening and of course that meant some full bodied red wines to finish the flight. My white wine glass had become the receptacle for the water that I would pour into my red wine glass to remove the last wine that I had. At D.vine Fine Wines where I was at, they had selected two types of wines that I normally do not end up selecting. The reason is that I usually find something else to pique my curiosity, so certain wines go lacking.


The second to the last wine that I had was Bouza Tannat Reserva 2015. This wine had the appellation of Canelones a region near Montevideo, Uruguay. Tannat is the major grape of Uruguay and the fruit for this wine was hand harvested from the family’s two vineyards, Las Violetas and Melilla. The wines were aged from twelve to fifteen months in a mix of French and American Oak and it was unfiltered. There were twenty-six-hundred cases of this wine produced. The wine was deep in color with a good medium nose and very heavy legs on the glass. As a side note and don’t ask me why, but every time I see Tannat, I think back to my days of scouting where they had all the scouts gather to sing praises to three kings of yore whose names were Owah, Tanah, Siam and we had to keep saying those three names until the last scout figured it out.


The last wine of the evening was a Zinfandel and I have to say that I do tend to refrain from ordering this by the bottle, because of all the heavy jam-fruit bombs that I have encountered which tend to always remind of the home-made “Dago Red” wines that we used to get at home during the Christmas season from friends of the family when I was still not even in high school. The Peachy Canyon Westside Zinfandel 2014 is from Paso Robles. Paso Robles is the northern half of San Luis Obispo County and Peachy Canyon which was founded in 1988 was one of the original wineries in Paso Robles. This wine while being seventy-seven percent Zinfandel was blended with Petite Sirah, Alicante Bouschet, Tannat and Syrah. There were just over seven thousand cases produced of this wine and it was more impressive than what I was expecting, so I was quite pleased, as it did not hit either of my two preconceived notions. So, it was two for two of nice wine tastings that I had, so I may go back for some more wine tastings.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two Full Bodied Reds

  1. Nice. I love a good Tannat.

  2. So glad to hear you enjoyed our Westside Zinfandel. As a rule, we work to avoid the “fruit bombs” that you don’t care for… Zin really is an elegant, terroir-driven grape, not unlike Pinot Noir in a lot of ways! If you ever have the opportunity to come to Paso Robles, let us know. We’d love to arrange a tasting of our single vineyard Zinfandels for you.

    • I feel honored that you discovered my little article and I am glad that you enjoyed it, as much as I enjoyed your wine. If I have the good fortune to get out your way, I shall so let you know and it would be a pleasure to meet with you. Thank you. – John

Leave a Reply

