Five Years

Leave it to Social Media to remind me that I have been writing for five years. It may have dawned on me a couple of days later, as I have been quite busy, but I will accept the wake-up call. It truly doesn’t seem that I have been doing it for that long, well there are a couple of times that I have had to write, just to get under the bell, as I like things to be on an even keel. The first year I wrote an article every day, just to get into the habit of writing, because it had been years since I had been a student, and now it is every other day. I am still amazed that I have even wrote over a thousand articles and my ability to weave stories around wine is still intact, much to the chagrin of some of you, but as I have often stated, I don’t like wine jargon or to get too technical, because that is not my character. I am a creature of habit, as some of you may have noticed, as I like to have my article appear at the same time of the day, I know it is quirky, but that is just me. I have met some very interesting people through these five years, and so far, I have even met one other blogger, since I am in the Detroit area and that seems far from the maddening crowd.


Since I started discovering wines when I was in high school, there has been gallons of wine under that bridge. There have been some awful wines, some mediocre wines and some stellar wines that are truly the nectar of the Gods. For the record, the only wines that I have not actually paid for is because we were at a dinner where we were treated, as of yet I have never been offered to review wines; and I was brought up with the concept not to ask for anything free. Yes, I wax poetic at times, and sometimes I have to curb my opinions, as I try to stay positive. I very seldom get political, because from me you don’t want politics, from me, I hope you want enjoyable times with wine. I mean that is why I tend to leave my “lead” buried in the end of the article. I think wine makes the memory even better, especially when the stage has been set.


It is my Bride that sometimes gets the short shift at a dinner, at least for a few minutes, as I take a photograph of the wine and make some notes, but then I do go back to her. She has a much more hectic schedule than I do, so there are some things that we miss, as I try to include her as often as possible. I mean would Nick Charles be as much fun without Nora? I am writing this as I think of a small little race that will happen around 6:40 today and she has just returned from that city, because of business requirements. She did not bring me any wine, as if we need more wine in the cellar, I guess that is a silly statement as yes, we always need more wine, but she did bring me something to savor, since I had to be without her for five days, but hardly the same. So now to figure out how to celebrate this milestone, my next project. Most of all I would like to thank all that put up with my ramblings and know that I have been having fun, as I try to entertain you and perhaps impart a little wine knowledge to you.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Five Years

  1. Oz's Travels says:

    Cheers! Keep up the great work, enjoy reading your posts!

  2. okiewinegirl2015 says:

    Happy blog-versary! Enjoyable wine tales.

  3. Congratulations! Five years! It’s a thrill to read your articles.

  4. Congratulations! I always look forward to reading your posts and hope you continue to write for many years to come. Cheers! 🍷

  5. shez says:

    Congrats on your blog-versary! Love reading all your wine tales! Cheers! 🍷

Leave a Reply

