Two Early Gifts

At our house, you can tell that it is Christmas, because the whole main floor is fully decorated, even the table clothes are Christmas themed.  Even the music is Christmas here with no commercial interruptions.  If ever I have a heart attack, it will probably be from lugging up the twenty cartons of Christmas decorations or at the end of the season when I have to repeat the process to pack everything away for another year.  We always seem to get some wine and wine themed gifts in December, go figure.

cain-cuvee-nv9

The first gift that my Bride received at her Ladies Party was very cute and I really like it, though I may keep it in the plastic box, just to save my sanity.  First, I have to draw up the spirits of Franklin Pangborn and Fritz Feld, and if you don’t know these two character actors you are not a fan of vintage Hollywood films.  I really need to put on my black cut-away coat, striped pants, gray vest, ascot, white wing collared shirt and my gray spats for this gift.  Now think of the classic hotelier, as he rings the bell for a bellman to appear to take the client’s luggage to the room.  Now that hotel bell was always polished chrome and my Bride received a burgundy version of that bell, with the wording of “Ring for WINE” and now you know why I am trying to keep it in the clear plastic case.  Otherwise there could be constant bell ringing in the house and I assure you that it would not be from the Salvation Army.

ring-for-wine

The other gift, is a belated birthday gift or an early Christmas gift and either way one looks at it, it is greatly appreciated.  How can one not appreciate a bottle of Cain Cuvee NV9?  I have been an avid fan of Cain Vineyard and Winery from the very first bottle that I had at a restaurant from this fine company.  I even became a bigger fan of theirs after we booked a tasting a tour of the facility on our trip to Napa Valley.  I jokingly call Cain Cuvee, Cain 5 Light, because instead of five varietals there are only four in the blend, and the blend is heavily weighted towards Merlot.  Cuvee actually means blend, and this wine is not only a blend of grapes, but of two vintage years as well.  The NV9 stands for Non-Vintage or perhaps a play on the word envy.  The NV9 consists of 53% Merlot, 26% Cabernet Franc, 20% Cabernet Sauvignon and 19% Petit Verdot as well as a blend of the 1999 and 1998 vintages.  The wine is aged for over a year in a mix of oak, and then is aged another year in the bottle, before it was released in February 2002.  This will be a wine worthy of ringing the bell.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

