Cab Franc Day

As usual, I am a day late and a dollar short, but I would like to throw my two cents into this great new day of wine celebration, devoted to the great grape Cabernet Franc. From what I can discern, it has now been proven that it is the parent grape to Cabernet Sauvignon. In Bordeaux, it is one of the grapes used to blend the what is termed the Bordeaux Blend or here in the States what is usually found in the blend of a Meritage. Of course, it is a major player for such great wines as Chateau Cheval Blanc, Chateau Ausone and the wine that I may never get to try Le Pin. It is also a major player in the Loire Valley, especially in Chinon and Saumur, as I learned early in my days of wine.

Ch Ausone 1957                                  Chateau Cheval Blanc 1985
It has also become popular here in the New World, not only for blending, but as a stand-alone varietal. I have found it here in Michigan, but also in Ohio and in Ontario, Canada. I have found it both as a full bodied red wine and also as a Rosé; and then again, I have also found it being used as an Ice Wine in the Niagara Peninsula. I could go on forever listing it in assorted wines that utilize it for blending.

SaumurChampigny                    Couly Dutheil Chinon Clos de lEcho 2004
Then there is the added bonus that the Exchequer of Funds here at my house, is a fervent fan of Cabernet Franc, so there have often been times when she will balk at some of the prices of wines that I either want to buy for the cellar or at a restaurant, but I can get a royal reprieve when I tell my Bride that it is Cabernet Franc, it is one varietal that she is always eager to try,

Trius Showcase Red Shale Cabernet Franc 2012                                         Peller Icewine Cabernet Franc and Icewine Truffles
I am also pleased to say that I can say that Cabernet Franc Day was initiated and promoted by Lori and Michael of Dracaena Wines in Paso Robles, California. I have a special affinity, because Lori was one of the first bloggers that actually started following me, when I first began writing. One day I will try their wine, but at the current time, they do not ship to Michigan; and since we have two children and five grandchildren that reside in Las Vegas, it seems to be the farthest west we get to anymore. Perhaps I will be able to find it, the next time I am in Las Vegas. It is on my bucket list of wines to try within my realm of affordability and not a cause for a divorce. So, all I can say, is if one hasn’t had a glass of Cabernet Franc, what are you waiting for?

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cab Franc Day

  1. Don’t say never with Le Pin, just get saving 🙂

Leave a Reply

