I Kvelled

The other day, I had lunch with a former co-worker and it was a pleasure. Years ago, in that industry, the common vernacular that one heard was Mamma Loshen or Yiddish, and today Yiddish is heard quite a bit and has become part of the speech pattern of most, without them realizing where the word came from. I don’t get a chance to speak it much anymore, so it was a mitzvah during that lunch. I was having going to fress with a ninety-one-year-old that was still sharp as a tack and he was two years younger than his brother who hired me years ago, and worked for about thirty years. When we were planning on meeting, his first suggestion was to go to a deli, and while that sounded great to have a hot Pastrami on twice baked corn-rye, I quick as a gonef suggested someplace that has wine, so that I could “immortalize” the moment. What was I going to write about? Matzah Ball Soup and knishes?

jeff-carrel-les-darons-2015
We decided to go to the Redcoat Tavern in West Bloomfield, the second location for this restaurant, when they first opened this location it was Brasserie Zinc and what a great restaurant that was, but as good as it was, most of the locals would order the burger that the original restaurant was known for, and they finally stopped trying to chase the dream of a high class joint and changed it, to what they do best. So instead of Braised Short Ribs, I would have a hoity-toity custom-shmuston design your own burger, great onion rings and Cole slaw. It was a long time since I had a Redcoat Tavern burger, so it hit the spot and we ended up chatting and noshing for about two hours.

mi-redcoat-tavern-logo
So instead of a bottle of Dr. Brown’s Cel-Ray Soda I got a chance to look at the wine list at the restaurant. Now my dining companion was happy with a “two-cent plain,” but he just had ice water, but I was looking for something new. I found something that I thought would pair handsomely with my burger and it was Jeff Carrel Les Darons 2015 from the Languedoc. Now when I was first learning about French wines this area was the Coteaux du Languedoc, part of the much bigger region of Languedoc-Roussillon known for great table wines. The lion’s share of wines from this area is red and the famed grapes are Grenache, Syrah, Mourvedre and Carignan, and the wine I had was a blend of Grenache, Syrah and Carignan. This wine had a lot of personality and went well with the lunch, so I was happy. It was a great afternoon and with mahzel we will get together again and perhaps even with our spouses; and now I have to teach Word some new words.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Kvelled

  1. Christy Schulz says:

    i used to go to the Redcoat Tavern on Woodward frequently, when I lived in Oakland County. I loved all the wood and leather. It had the feel of a masculine den/library. My friends and I never failed to include an order of their outstanding Onion Rings. Thanks for bringing back some real special memories, John.

  2. Lili says:

    I do like a custom burger I must say. I think a visit to the Redcoat Tavern is in order during my travels next year. I enjoyed this post, thank you!

Leave a Reply

