An Extravagant Cameo

We went to the cinema the other day. Let us suffice to say that there is a fan extraordinaire of the Harry Potter books and films in this house. I even went so far as to think about a magician’s wand from Ollivander’s that can control the television controls in the house. My only concern is that it may get damaged quite quickly because all of the kids would think that it was a toy and not a piece of electronics. We went to see the newest film, that from what I understand will be the first of four films. We went to the Cineplex that is becoming our favorite haunt, because every chair is like a Barco-lounger and I must confess that the major fan, did take a cat-nap, which is in her DNA when she reclines to watch television here in the house. I think that she works too hard. I guess all the movie critics have taken a vow not to mention who the new villain is, but he makes about a one minute appearance in this movie I guess, so that it can be said that he will appear in all four films.  I guess that I will not announce who the new villain is either, but it will eventually become old news.

tamari-reserva-malbec-2014
Adjacent to the Cineplex is a mall, so we went and had a quick dinner as we had some gift cards to the restaurant to use.  We had a quick dinner at California Pizza Kitchen.  My Bride went for her usual Thai Crunch Salad of veggies, cilantro and chicken with peanuts, wontons and rice sticks tossed in a peanut dressing. I decided to try something different so I went with a Carne Asada Pizza which was an individual size thin crusted pizza with marinated steak, Poblanos, Cilantro Pesto, yellow onions, Mozzarella and Monterey Jack cheese with a side of Salsa Verde.

belleruch-rose-2015

As we were looking at the wine list, my Bride was going to skip the wine and just have water, but I found a wine that I thought would be interesting for her dish, that she had forgotten that she had tried before, and to be truthful so had I.  She had a glass of M. Chapoutier Belleruche Rosé 2015 from the Cotes du Rhone on the right bank. The wine was basically Grenache with some Cinsault and Syrah blended in. The grapes were pressed without maceration and had twenty days of cold fermentation and aged in vats for the winter and then bottled in the Spring. I liked the color and the flavor of the wine and I could have even had with it for my pizza, but I chose a more robust wine and I think it overpowered by dish. I went with Bodega Tamari Reserva Malbec 2014 from the Mendoza region of Argentina. The Mendoza region is the largest wine production area in Argentina and the French grape Malbec has become the king of the region. The wine was fine, but there really wasn’t enough steak and the dish was more delicate in flavor than I expected. All in all, it was a nice time out and I know that she has some new books and films to look forward to.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Extravagant Cameo

  1. Huge Harry Potter Fan here too, have all the original hardbound US books and nearly all of the movies on DVD (for what purpose now, not sure). Was your opinion of the movie good, average or poor? Not a fan of movies in the theatre, so waiting…

    • My Bride is the real Harry Potter fan and she also has all of the Hard-bound editions and the DVD collection. We saw the film in the standard format and it was fun and I even will look forward to the other films. I think her only complaint, is that she thought that there should be a new theme music piece for these movies, but I felt it just put everyone at home. I do think these films are enhanced by a full screen, but I still watch them at home on occasion. Thank you as always for stopping by and get better soon. – John

Leave a Reply

