“What a Great Job We Have Lucky!”

That was a recent tweet that myself and many other bloggers received a couple of days ago on Twitter. Writing about wines and dinners may sound glamorous, or it may sound like boasting, but you have to remember that some of the memories go back to the late Sixties and not since I began having fun recording the days gone by. This is more of a self-exploration, because that tweet made me ponder my writing, especially my conceit of being at a table with another person having a glass of wine and chatting about that moment that I am thinking about. What I am doing on Twitter is a total mystery to me still, but I think that I am getting the hang of it. After I liked the original post and then retweeted it, the subject of the post kind of haunted me. I write a wine blog, but I am not a professional in the wine industry in any sort of capacity, and believe me when I tell you that my blog is not a job. I have no designations, I am not a sommelier, or even thinking of becoming one, hell in my day they were called wine stewards, if they even had a title back then. I write not to dazzle or to say “look at me,” rather I write in hopes that someone that has an interest in wine, might take that next step and go out beyond their comfort zone, as God knows we all can get cocooned into certain areas.

Ch Pichon Lalande 1964
All of the wine that I have written about, is from the “School of Hard Knocks” as they would say from my old neighborhood. The majority of my “knowledge” was from self-studies and from having the chance to have purchased some great wines over the last four decades or so. That is not to say that I haven’t had some great mentors and I tend to be an avid reader for all of my avocations. I could not even have made a great wine snob, because I started when I was a real student and not just a student of wine. You will have to pardon me for the fact that I do not write about wines with all of the descriptive words that most people use today, as even my mentors back then, did not use such words. We used “this is a great wine” or “this is a nice table wine.” When I was first taught how to taste wine, there was never even any mention of “spitting.” Perhaps this was because my mentors all had survived the Great Depression and that probably seemed like a wasteful extravagance to them.

Ch Ducru-Beaucaillou 1970
I have never solicited wine or received wine for reviews. Of course, the way I write about wine, I may never have to worry about that. I grew up with wine in a very eclectic way and I have drunk wines that most people might not even admit to have tried, to wines that I am still amazed that I have had the good fortune to have tried as well. I always try to look at the bright side of wines, though there are some that really don’t appeal to me, but maybe growing up like I did, the thought of leaving a partially filled glass of wine is anathema to me. In fact, there was only one time during a tasting that I did not finish some of my tastings, because I think the special tasting-tour that we paid for at one winery, we ended up tasting every bottle of wine that they produced and I really only paid for the special tasting to try their top of the line, that we bought, and it was worth it. I think of myself as a rank-amateur, but I have had some spectacular wines over the years and then I have written about wines that could make some bloggers shudder. I have had the chance to enjoy two of the greatest vintages from the last century, but I have never had the stellar 1945. So, for every 1921 Richebourg there have been hundreds of wines that I have recalled that are from catering halls and the corner market. With the upward spiraling prices of wines, I can guarantee that some of the wines on my bucket list will probably never be fulfilled, because they are now too dear and I am preparing to eventually retire, but there is still plenty of wine that is cellared and still many restaurants to try. So, if this is my fun job, I would say that I am very lucky indeed.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “What a Great Job We Have Lucky!”

  1. d d b says:

    Great sentiments!

Leave a Reply

