Success (?)

I think that I have found a way to remove the stubborn labels that refuse to leave a wine bottle. I know it sounds silly, but I like to save the labels to look back on, and they are great for writing articles about, as I often do. I was out in the garage cleaning, and discarding stuff; getting ready for the winter and I found a tool, that I thought might be beneficial. The tool was a Black & Decker High Speed Paint Stripper which is a heat gun with a couple of scraping attachments. As I lamented a few articles ago, I have a couple of cartons of empty bottles with the labels that refuse to budge, using the most popular techniques.

I put the push scraper attachment onto the heat gun and fired it up. I decided to try the highest setting and it was actually browning the paper label as it was being removed. I ceased and let the tool cool down a bit, as well as the bottle. I went to the lowest setting and I thought I was doing good, but I guess I was not and must have been impatient, as the first label ripped half way through, but I eventually got the second part off as well and then I taped the two parts together, and for my scrap book it will be fine. The first bottle that I tried was Chateau du Pavillon 2000 from Saint-Croix-du-Mont.

If you try using this tool, you will discover that it is a lot more work, then just heating up the label and peeling off the label. I have broken up concrete that was less straining. I then decided that perhaps I could combine two techniques together to see if that would facilitate the removal. So, I put a bottle into the oven at two-hundred-fifty degrees for ten minutes, hoping that it would at least soften up the glue some, as this label had defied boiling water from the outside and from the inside, as well as just the baking. After letting it bake, I then applied the heat gun and slowly got a toe-hold and just kept working back and forth. I now have a label from Clos Du Bois Cabernet Sauvignon 2010 from Alexander Valley. Every time and every label from this winery has ended up a total mess and flung into the trash can. I think that I have found a potential cure for the permanent label adhesive, but I will keep working on it, as you noticed, I started off with smaller labels and more affordable wines. The Opus One bottles have huge labels, and after doing two bottles, my right hand was actually sore; so, I shall have to pace myself. I guess it is time for a glass of wine.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Success (?)

  1. talkavino says:

    Wow, you are unstoppable John! Sounds like quite a bit of work though…

    • Anatoli, I am not sure if unstoppable is one of my traits, but I guess that I am never satisfied with a dead end. I shall try some others and when I am more satisfied with the results, I will discuss it again.

  2. Definitely sounds like you deserve a wine break!

Leave a Reply

