My Sneaky Trick

My sneaky trick has nothing to do with politics, so you can breathe a sigh of relief. It is just something I do when we are traveling and staying at hotels. If one is in the wine country, this isn’t necessary to do, but everywhere else it is. I didn’t take my wine carrier with us, as I wasn’t sure how much time we would be able to enjoy a glass of wine in the room and I didn’t take a bottle of wine either, since the laws in Michigan about wine have changed. In the old days, if you had ordered a bottle of wine with dinner, you had to finish the bottle or leave it, and as you know I like to save the labels, and you could always take an empty bottle home with you. Nowadays in Michigan, if you don’t finish your bottle of wine, you can have your server recork the bottle and take the unfinished bottle with you. This is much better as you don’t have to worry about drinking too much. That and I always have a corkscrew in my grooming bag.

caposaldo-pinot-grigio-2015
I always like to stop and take a look at what is being offered in the little sundry shop that most hotels have these days, as sometimes I might want some Lifesavers or in case I forgot to pack something. I also take a look to see if there is any wine being sold to take back to the room. The first one that I stayed at, did not have any wine glasses and the only wine to be purchased was small individual drink size bottles of Sutter Home, so I passed.

kendall-jackson-chardonnay-2014
I then crossed the lobby and walked into the bar and asked if I could take a couple of glasses of wine up to my room and they said “yes.” So I ordered a couple of glasses of wine, and that is how I usually have wine glasses in the room for later, if we decide to have some wine before retiring for the night. I usually get a couple of easy drinking wines this way and this last time was no different. The first wine was Kendall-Jackson Vintner’s Reserve Chardonnay 2014. This California wine is found almost everywhere and it is always a safe wine to order. By the magic of the winemaker and grapes purchased across the entire length of the state, they can produce a wine that is rather consistent year after year with no surprises, and the odds are that the bottle of wine in the bar is always either brand new or just recently opened, because it is that popular. The second glass of wine was one that I have had often in several different vintages and it has also proven to be very safe. Caposaldo Pinot Grigio delle Venezie IGT 2015 is a Pinot Grigio grown in an area where it is not native to in Italy, hence the IGT designation. The Veneto area is known for Valpolicella, Amarone, Soave and Prosecco; so, anything else can either be a table wine or an IGT. So, there is my little trick to make sure that I have some wine glasses in the room and I can start the afternoon off with a wine that will not run afoul of whatever wine is chosen later to go with dinner.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Sneaky Trick

  1. Pamela Shepherd says:

    I, for one, am glad you carry a cork screw with you! LOL I couldn’t have opened my wine at the reunion had you not had one! Love, love, love your writing and your love for different wines.

Leave a Reply

