Thanksgiving Eh

Here in the United States of America we were celebrating Columbus Day, south of the border only for Detroiters, for the rest of the country north of us in Canada they were celebrating Thanksgiving. My grandparents could not get entry into the States after the Ottoman genocide of the Armenians, but they were allowed entry into Canada, so I have an affinity for Canada, and I have always said that if I stayed there for about a week, I could probably sound like a native and speak the language. I diverge as I often do, but I received a request from one of my cast of semi-regulars The Messenger asking if I could help her select a wine for her Thanksgiving dinner. You see The Messenger and I went to college together when she was a student, and she is still an American citizen living abroad as they say. I was grateful and “honoured” that she asked.

santa-margherita-valdobbiadene-prosecco-superiore-nv

 

She gave me the menu for the meal, starting off with appetizers with assorted cheese and crackers. She had selected bleu cheese with cranberries and cinnamon, Camembert and Boursin with garlic and herbs along with fresh strawberries and Concorde grapes. She also had selected a Kalamata Olive and Fig Tapenade and a Prosecco Sparkling Wine Salami that I had not heard of, but sounded interesting. She was making a turkey with a cranberry glaze and several sides that one would normally find in a meal like this. The last side dish I thought sounded interesting and different with the meal and that was Pierogis with Kielbasa and onions. Then of course there would be desserts, but they were being brought by some of the guests.

prosecco-sparkling-wine-salami

She sent me to a site to look at the wines being offered, because she uses a company that delivers and I was surprised to find that they offered any wines, because Ontario is quite strict about the distribution of alcoholic beverages, but they are relaxing some of their laws. We looked at several different wines as she was interested in a white wine that would be easy to drink, because she is not really a wine drinker. She found one wine and I went to look at it and I told her that it would be perfect for her party and that everyone could enjoy it, that I thought would also pair with the assorted dishes and it would be festive and it was a new wine for me as well. Santa Margherita Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore NV was the wine she had found. I knew the Santa Margherita winery as they are quite famous for their Pinot Grigio and it made sense that they would also make a Prosecco since they are in the Veneto region of Italy. In 2009 Prosecco di Conegliano-Vadobbiadene was promoted to DOCG and the Glera grape officially is now known as Prosecco. This wine had everything going for it in regards to heritage and district, and even though I did not have a chance to try it, I know that I shall look for it to try at a later date.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanksgiving Eh

  1. With your help I bet the Messanger had a lovely Thanksgiving

  2. joyofwine says:

    The turkey was great! 😉 Thanksgiving is my favourite holiday!

Leave a Reply

