A $5,000.00 Hot Plate

I don’t consider myself a hoarder, but I do collect things. I am very glad that I did amass items over the years, because it has made my writing this blog much easier with the visual aids. I mean I have added wine labels that I have saved in scrap books, and I have saved matchbooks for those old enough to remember when restaurants willingly had them printed, because they were the perfect piece of advertising. I have saved coasters and business cards and I have saved corks when they were salvageable. I mean we have all uncorked bottles of wine that have had the corks crumble, because of their age, and some have been destroyed because they are so long that it has taken multiple times to remove them. Some have even been ruined because of a poor worm-screw on inferior corkscrews. Then I have even lost many, because sommeliers are so quick to remove them from the table, after the one has sniffed the cork to make sure that it was not tainted.

hot-plate-finished
Why have I saved the corks? I have always had the plans to use the corks to make the crown molding in the wine cellar that I always wanted to have. Well I finally built that cellar, and I have paneled the walls with wine crates that I had saved and dismantled for it. I also “wallpapered” other walls with the labels of wine that I have had over the years and there have been many. I am getting ready to actually start the crown molding, once I get motivated. I have buckets of corks presorted as to whether they have printing on them or if they are plain corks. A lot of the wineries have branded the corks, not only with their name, but with the vintage as additional proof that the wine one is having, is actually that wine. There are times when I am not the most industrious individuals and years ago, I was given as a gift, a craft project, that one could use as a corkboard or as a hot pad and it was just put aside for that day when I would accomplish that task. I went through all of the corks that had been branded as I felt that it would make a better presentation on the completed job.

hot-plate-start

 

After that I amassed more corks then I needed for the project, I started sorting them by sizes as one can see that I had to make a like woven pattern of corks. As I was doing all of that, I started remembering most of the wines and wishing that I still had them resting in the cellar, as most of us wish that we had bought more a certain wine over the years. Then I started thinking what would it cost to replace those wines. I went to wine-searcher.com and actually typed in each bottle to see if they were still available, some were not, but then I would figure what the most recent vintage would cost me. I was truly amazed. I mean some I knew would be dear like a DRC Vosne-Romanee 1991 or an Hospice de Beaune Cuvee Betault 1997. I had to use two different Opus One corks so that I could show the signatures of the two principals of that famed joint venture. Some I figured that I may never have again like a Colgin IX Estate 2005, a Peter Michael Les Pavots 1996, a Chateau Latour 1967 and a 1986, and a Chateau Mouton-Rothschild 1990. Some were just favorites of mine that I still have more of in the cellar like Cain Five, Talbott Diamond T Chardonnay, Darioush Cabernet Sauvignon and PlumpJack. And then I had to include the whimsical Marilyn Merlot cork with the lipstick imprint, because what man would not have liked to have had that lipstick at least once upon his cheek. So now I have a great conversation piece for all the parties that we have here, since I won’t have the wines again.

 

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

