The Auburn Café

I always try to have at least a week of articles, because one never knows when the Muse may want to have the day off and this way I don’t have to scramble, as I like to publish an article every other day. My usual routine is then to go to my publisher and get the article lined up, with all the usual secondary and tertiary proofreading, and all the tags and photos pertaining to the article. Afterwards I take a relaxing tour of all the other Bloggers that I follow and read what they have to say. I always try to be encouraging, but I have a problem with people that follow me with the expectation of quid pro quo, which is fine, but after they follow me, I never hear from them again, which leaves me scratching my head in amusement. All this rambling on is because, as I was reading the different articles there was an article about stuffed grape leaves, and being Armenian this is a dish that I grew up on, and then I was hungry.

Kouros Red Nemea 2013

In my day to day life, I end up meeting many people and one day I met the man that owns The Auburn Café and we were talking about food and wine. It truly is amazing how the two subjects seem to pop up in conversations even with strangers. The Auburn Café is a Greek restaurant off of the beaten path for me, but since I had to be Downriver, the City of Ecorse was not that far out of the way. The restaurant is a good size establishment with ample parking and when I walked in, I was led to a booth on the bar side, instead of the main dining room, and that was fine. I have been in a few bars in my day, so I was not in the least bit uncomfortable. I was looking at the menu, and finally found the grape leaves, and I wanted the hot lamb stuffed variety as opposed to the cold rice stuffed appetizers. The dish was very satisfying, but there is a difference between Armenian cooking and Greek cooking. The dish I received was in a Lemon Sauce, whereas I am more used to them being cooked with a light Tomato Sauce and then covered with hot butter and crushed garlic. As the old saying goes “when in Rome…;” and it was still an excellent dish.

MI The Auburn Cafe BC

I was also looking forward to a wine that the owner was talking about in our conversation. When I was growing up, there was and still is a Greektown in downtown Detroit, but back then the selection of Greek wines left much to be desired. The wine was Kouros Red Nemea 2013 by the Greek Wine Cellars. Nemea is the largest appellation in Greece for wines and is in the Northeastern corner of the Peloponnesian Peninsula. Nemea has been an historic region of Greece since the days of Hercules, when he fought and then slain the Lion of Nemea. This wine is made entirely from the Agiorgitiko grape named for a small church in the boundaries of Nemea, called St. George’s, and the grape name translates to “St. George’s grape.” If this wine had been blended with any other grape, it could only carry the Peloponnesian appellation.  So if I ever try to get rated by The Century Club, I have another grape variety to list.  This was a full bodied wine and it is amazing how the native wines seem to pair so well with the native cuisine. My hunger was taken care of, and my curiosity for this new wine was also taken care of.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Auburn Café

  1. Great to know that you’ be enjoyed a Greek wine 🍷🍷

    • Effi, some of my earliest memories and some of the articles are about Greek wines, but there is a marked improvement over the early wines that I have had. Thank you once again for stopping by. – John

Leave a Reply

