Goodfellow’s

I know that most people when they see that word would immediately think of the 1990 film GoodFellas. I am also sure that was the thought behind the naming of an Italian restaurant that is right downtown in the Lake View Hotel on Mackinac Island. The restaurant on their website alludes to the “mob theme” of the eatery. I have never eaten there, but this is the second time that I have stopped at Goodfellow’s Wine Cellar, which is adjacent to the restaurant.

Pascal & Renaud Macon Villages 2014

Goodfellow’s Wine Cellar is the storage facility (I guess) for the restaurant, but they are also a Wine Bar and a wine retailer. One can also eat in the Cellar at lunch or dinner and they offer flights and pairings for the dishes served. There was wooden wine crates placed strategically around both for show and for utilitarian reasons and the shop was filled with wines. This is a serious wine shop with plenty of choices to make one’s wallet much thinner, but also to make some great wine memories. We had walked down from the resort, just to see what they were pouring, as the wine at our resort, unless one was buying by the bottle was not that unique. It was another hot and muggy day on the island, so we were looking at the chilled wines.

Caricature Chardonnay Lodi 2014

The first wine that we had was Caricature Chardonnay 2014 from Lodi, in the Central Valley of California. It is made by Lange Twins Family Winery and Vineyards and they are Certified Lodi for Sustainable Winegrowing, which is becoming more prevalent especially in California. My Bride liked this wine more compared to the other Chardonnay wine that I had. I had a glass of Domaine Pascal & Mireille Renaud Macon-Villages 2014. The appellation Macon-Villages is for the white wines of the Maconnais located around Macon. This particular Domaine has twenty-five acres scattered through the villages of Pouilly, Solutre and Davaye and this wine is made in Stainless Steel for a crisp Chardonnay. The appellation Macon-Villages is a step above the basic Macon appellation. While I liked this wine better, I would have been happy with either one and I thought they both were much more interesting than just a California Chardonnay. The wine selection was that impressive that perhaps we will have to make dinner reservations one night at Goodfellow’s.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodfellow’s

  1. Jill Barth says:

    I just got back from Lodi (wine bloggers conference). While there I had dinner with a member of the Lange family & enjoyed a generous selection of their portfolio. I’ll be writing a bunch more about my experience in Lodi so please check L’occasion for updates. Glad you were able to taste! Cheers!

    • Jill, from all that I have been able to follow from some of the other reports, you all had a grand time in Lodi. I am glad that you noticed my mention of the Lange wine, this was written prior to my even thinking of the conference, but I am glad that it tied in. I am looking forward to your future accounts as well as from the others that were there. – John

Leave a Reply

