Magdaleno

It was in the midst of the third day of retailing while the Wyandotte Art Fair was progressing and the store was running on extended hours for the event, maintaining the hours of the fair.  By this point, my old retailing regimens were kicking in and it almost felt like old times.  I did not walk the fair, as I figured that I had enough additional walking, just because I was joking that I was parking in the next city from all the additional cars; and of course I was over dressed, but some traditions die hard.  My Bride and one of her girlfriends were going to come down for the fair, they would walk the show and then we were going to meet at a restaurant that I had not tried yet.

Campolieti Valpolicella Ripasso 2013

 

Magdaleno Ristorante was one of the restaurants that I had been touted to try, even before I took my position working in Wyandotte.  It was one of the traditional Italian eateries with more than a bit of charm and not the type of place that I would want to go to by myself.  It had the feeling of Old World charm and I felt right at home.  The bread and the special “sauce” that they brought was not the typical Olive Oil and spices and the three of us were enjoying it immensely.  I kind of felt sorry for our server, as she almost seemed a bit frazzled by the fact that I had to go back to work, so that I could not enjoy my dinner at a more relaxed pace, and she expedited the orders.  We all started out with house salads with Champagne Vinaigrette and it was light and very tasty.  Our friend had the Frutti di Mare which was scallops, shrimp, mussels and clams in a tomato white wine sauce tossed with spaghetti.  My Bride and I both elected to go with one of the specials of the day.  She had the Grilled Sea Bass with vegetables and I had the Braised Short Ribs with polenta and we were both happy campers.  In fact my Bride ordered my entrée while I was walking over to the restaurant, just to keep me in time for work, like I said this would have even been better if I could have paced the meal properly.  We were all sated and we did not have any dessert, I guess we were all watching our teenage figures.

Voga Pinot Grigio 2015

 

The ladies both had white wine, which is understandable with what they were ordering, plus for the fact that they had been out in the hot sun walking the fair.  They were enjoying Voga Pinot Grigio 2015 from Venezie in Italy and instead of a typical wine bottle; the bottle looked more like a glass cylinder.  This wine was aged in Stainless Steel and had a nice crisp taste and a very soft color with a very mild nose.  I went with a more robust wine with my entrée.  I was enjoying Luigi Righetti Campolieti Valpolicella Ripasso 2013 with a Classico Superiore DOC.  This wine is made of Corvina and Rondinella grapes which are the grapes of Valpolicella, but then it is refermented with the tannin rich skins of the grapes, hence the Ripasso designation.  Valpolicella and Bardolino are the two most famous wines of the Veneto wine region of Italy.  This wine was most enjoyable and my Bride thought that it would have even been a good choice with her entrée as well.  I am sure that we will return to Magdaleno Ristorante when we can have a nice leisurely dinner, and I might even mention it to my club as they have an ample side room for private parties.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

