Finally Another Call

Just when I thought that I was going to have to file a Missing Person Report, I received a text from The Caller. It had been some time that I had heard from him, though my Bride keeps in touch with him quite often, though when he and I connect, it is more fun, because it concerns food and wine. The Caller and his wife are always on the go, and they are always having fun. I enjoy when he thinks of us, or finds a restaurant or wine that they really have rave reviews about.

Meeker Roller Coaster Red NV

Turns out that they were in Okemos, Michigan which is a suburb of Lansing, Michigan and my Bride and I have been there a couple of times together. The Caller was at a new restaurant, to me, called Tannin, which is a great name for wine lovers. Tannin specializes in contemporary Italian Cuisine and there motto is “Delicious Wine, Intoxicating Food,” and that sounds like the perfect venue for The Caller. He texted me that his wife had the Gnocchi with Morel Mushrooms and vegetables and I guess he had the Chef’s Tasting Menu, because he sent me a copy of it. The First Course was Watermelon and Pear Gazpacho with Ginger and Thai Basil. The Second Course was Candy Stripe Beet and Duck Salad with Nasturtium Pesto. The Third Course was Lamb and Morels with Mint Chimichurri and Purple Potato Puree. The Fourth Course was Fig and Almond Chevre with Mostarda. The Fifth Course was Citrus Chiffon Cake with Coffee & Cream Buttercream, Rhubarb and Blueberries. I know that he had to good naturedly tweak my nose, because he knows how much I enjoy Duck, Lamb and Morels, and that was a great tweak.

MI Tannin Logo

They must have been really having a grand time, because they had two bottles of wine, so I am hoping they were with friends. The wine was a blend and it sounded very interesting, an offering from Mustang Wine Works of Healdsburg, California. The wine was Meeker Roller Coaster Red NV, and as the back label reads “please keep your hands and arms inside at all times,” and it was very appropriately named. This Roller Coaster Red was a blend of Syrah, Petite Sirah, Cabernet Sauvignon, Zinfandel, Cabernet Franc, Barbera, Petit Verdot, Carignan, Merlot, Malbec and Grenache. One of the bigger blending of wines that I can recall, and since they had two bottles of it, it must have been quite good, as I know that he would not have had the second bottle, if it wasn’t. So I guess that I don’t have to call the State Police, and we will have to try to work out a date with them, if they can fit us into their busy schedule.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

