MWWC #26: Solitude

“It’s quarter to three, there’s no in the place except you and me
So set ‘em up, Joe, I got a little story you oughta know
We’re drinkin’, my friend, to the end of a brief episode
Make it one for my baby and one more for the road.”

wine-stain Monthly Wine Challenge

It is that time again for another Monthly Wine Writing Challenge. Beth of The Traveling Wine Chick won the last Challenge and her “win” allows her to pick the theme of the new Challenge and her choice is the word “Solitude.” Your humble Raconteur is stymied, and the only song I can think of that combines adult beverages and solitude is Frank Sinatra’s legendary saloon song “One For My Baby (and One More For the Road), and one knows this is an old song, as when was the last time anyone uttered “one more for the road.” Back in the day, that was a statement that was made, when one was among friends and enjoying the evening, and didn’t want the night to end. How times have changed, now one would never entertain that thought unless they had a designated driver, a chauffeur or a cab waiting outside.

Chateau Cheval Blanc 1985

I tried and I tried to picture myself looking over a panoramic vista with the proverbial glass of wine in my hand in solitude pondering the view. I am sorry, but no matter how awe-inspiring the view, drinking in solitude is anathema to this road weary Raconteur. The only image that I can see is Paul Giamatti as Miles drinking Chateau Cheval Blanc ’61 in a “to-go” glass. To be totally truthful the scene of Gene Wilder as Doctor Ross at the end of his career in a Woody Allen film drinking Woolite out of a brown paper bag is funnier, but just as sad.

Ch Mouton-Rothschild 1961 Pauillac

As I have stated earlier and often, I think wine is to be shared. I have been in the retail industry all of my life, and may I say that there is nothing worse then having lunch or dinner alone, and while I may have a glass of wine on occasion with my meal in that setting, it is not as enjoyable as having a dining companion across the table from you. The only other time that I will have a glass of wine alone, if there is some left over from dinner, as I attempt to pen an article; and while one will think it is a likely Muse, it is not that stimulating.

Ch Margaux 1961 Margaux

Wine is better with people. The conversations as well as the meal all seem enhanced and the meal is not solemn. The dinner that we enjoyed with my Sister-in-Law to celebrate her Fortieth Birthday with wines from her birth year of 1961 was spectacular. I mean would you really enjoy Chateau Mouton-Rothschild, Chateau Margaux, Chateau Latour and Chateau d’Yquem all by yourself? Of course not, and it would be the height of selfishness.

Chateau Latour Pauillac 1961

Wine encourages conversations and off course I tend to be a talker, even with complete strangers when it comes to wine. We have been up in resorts in Michigan discussing the great Clarets with total strangers. There was the time when I ended up getting a Third Degree interrogation while we were having dinner at another resort in Carmel Valley, much to my Bride’s chagrin and ended up being treated with a fine glass of Screaming Eagle. How often does that happen in one’s life? It would never occur if one was drinking alone.

Ch d'Yquem 1961 Sauternes

So as for me, solitude would really be negated, because even if one is enjoying a beautiful sunset at the Pacific’s Edge as we have, it is with my Bride and never alone. And I would never have it any other way.

screamingeaglelabelv2

“Well that’s how it goes and Joe, I know that you’re getting pretty anxious to close
So, thanks for the cheer, I hope you don’t mind me bending your ears
This torch that I found must be drowned or it soon may explode
So, make it one for my baby and one more for the road
That long, long road.”

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Monthly Wine Writing Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MWWC #26: Solitude

  1. Pingback: #MWWC26 Time to vote! | the drunken cyclist

  2. Beth says:

    My topic for this challenge came from the fact that I live on my own, in the Napa Valley, away from family almost 3000 miles away on the East Coast. I have many meals alone and I usually taste wines for review alone as well. I attend wine industry events and have a small group of friends here with whom I go out occasionally, but most days after work, I drive home after work and spend evenings in solitude. I love my independence and my solo life most of the time, but sometimes I wish it were different. I am happy that you cannot relate to solitude and solo meals. Last night we had a wine dinner where I work, at Ehlers Estate, and I can guarantee you that wine is better shared with others. I save my best wines for those times. 🙂

    • Beth, that explains a lot about your choice and I can better understand the theme you picked. In my profession the majority of the meals are singular, but for the most part when I have wine, I so prefer having it with friends. May you stay happy in your chosen profession and enjoy the benefits of the job. – John

      • Beth says:

        I don’t have wine that often when I’m alone unless I’m tasting samples. I’m an advocate of 375ml half bottles, or what I call “single servings.” 😉

Leave a Reply

