Another Fiftieth Anniversary

I have had the good fortune to attend two Fiftieth Wedding Anniversaries and the funny thing is that both were celebrated at the exact same church, fifty years later. Fifty years is quite an accomplishment in today’s society and I was glad to be a part of both of these celebrations, and they were both part of my Bride’s family. The first was celebrated by her parents, and recently her first cousin had the same honor. There is just something awe inspiring about entering some of the grand cathedral type churches that are no longer being built, and this church was no exception. In fact it was such an awe inspiring structure that it was featured in a Clint Eastwood film that was shot in the Detroit area. When I was growing up, most of the churches that I had ever been in were of this style and grandeur and I still think of church in this manner, and remember the lessons of wearing one’s Sunday best clothing to attend church.

Sierra Mar Pelerin Chardonnay SLH 2012

After the mass, there was a special service for the two love-birds to renew their vows and it was a Kodak moment for all that attended the mass. I was impressed that the priest delivered his sermon while walking around the nave and not encumbered by having to read his lesson. Afterwards we all drove to a hall for the reception and since my Bride is part of such a large family, the invitation list was whittled down to only first cousins and spouses and there was still a crowd, which speaks volumes for the honored couple. They had a caterer who set up a buffet line with all delicious food, and trust me, I am very finicky and I usually do not eat at most wedding receptions that I attend. The beef, chicken and the stuffed pork were all well prepared and the service was very attentive. There was also a disc jockey that played music from their times, and plenty of people were eager to get up and dance for the rest of the evening. The happy couple also could still cut the rug as they did several polkas without appearing winded at all.

High Flyer Doctor's Pinot Noir 2010

The happy couple had called my Bride to find out what kind of wine they should buy, since they could bring all the beverages to the hall. When my Bride heard that, she insisted that we would bring our own wine from the cellar, and that we were honored to be part of the celebration. Since my Bride’s sister flew in for the weekend and stayed with us for the event, I grabbed a couple of bottles that I knew that the three of us could enjoy. I looked forward to trying a couple of bottles that had been in the cellar from my wine club “A Taste of Monterey” and both of the wines were from the Santa Lucia Highlands. The first bottle that we enjoyed was Pelerin Sierra Mar Vineyard Chardonnay 2012. I have had the good fortune to enjoyed several different bottles from this winery and have enjoyed them all. This was a small production of 333 cases and I must say that it was much more Continental in taste, as opposed to the big California Chardonnays that one usually has. The second bottle that I opened was from High Flyer Doctor’s Vineyard Pinot Noir 2010. There were 200 cases of this wine produced and the wine had spent twelve months in assorted oak barrels. One of the points of interest about the vines cultivated at Doctor’s Vineyard is that there are three distinct Pinot Noir clones that are grown there. While the wine was good, and I was looking forward to trying it, I did not find it to be as big and full flavored as some of the other Pinot Noir wines that I have had from the Santa Lucia Highlands. I must say it was just a wonderful evening and a grand time to see everyone at a festive occasion.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another Fiftieth Anniversary

  1. joyofwine says:

    I love that you refer to your wife as your Bride!

  2. Oz's Travels says:

    Agree great story Raconteur, I hope you were wearing your Top Hat.

    In the Commonwealth (the one with the Queen, not the one near you) when you reach your 60th Anniversary, the Queen even sends you are How .. Did You Do That Letter, well actually it is very formal a regal like. I was lucky enough to be there for the letter to be read out to my Aunty and Uncle, when they made their 70th Anniversary all they received was the bill for a great meal ….

    • That is very impressive, and I was not aware of that custom. I might add that I still have family in that other Commonwealth. I did not wear my Top Hat, but I did wear a suit and a fedora for the occasion.
      Thank you for stopping by. – John

Leave a Reply

