Four Years of Writing

I have to announce that on the Fourth of May, this Raconteur has been penning some unusual remembrances. Ever since I was young and first discovered the word “raconteur,” I embraced the word. Of course I am just old enough to have enjoyed seeing films and the old television shows when raconteurs were lauded. There were such greats as Myron Cohen, Henry Morgan, Robert Benchley, Dorothy Parker, Noel Coward, William Saroyan, and Buddy Hackett and though I never heard his discussions, they say that Harpo Marx, who was famous for being silent, was one of the great raconteurs of his time. Some of them were famous for being part of what was referred to as the Algonquin Round Table, and to pay homage to that questionable group, I once went to the Algonquin Hotel just to see the table.

2 Bloggers and 2 Brides

What is a raconteur? Basically one who is a story teller, some utilize great wit, and I wish I could say that I belong to that subset, but I do not. Though I realize that I am a storyteller, not in the league of Aesop, as most of my stories do not have morals, but I try to talk about the joys and pleasures that I associate with having wine. Some wine writers are very erudite and rate wines by numeric ratings, some with great wordings of the color, the nose, the taste; and some are extremely knowledgeable about the production. Some of the writers have had training and are very serious about the craft and to relay their knowledge. I guess that I learned about wines from the School of Hard Knocks, as we used to say. I have had the pleasure of meeting some fine mentors over the years, but my learning about wine, has been normally one at a time, and sometimes in a concerted method.

CC Champagne Flutes

As for me, I guess I shall continue to write my non-scholarly articles, because it is fun, and wine is so enjoyable. I have had wines, that I may wish never to encounter again and I have had wines that I wish that I could meet again, but alas, they are too dear to try again. I have also over these past four years had the pleasure, sometimes in person, but mostly through Social Media many others that enjoy wines as well. I also lament that I have seen many Blogs wither and die away, during these four years, and I am sure that there are myriad of reasons why this could occur and it is not mine, to even offer an opinion. In the vast spectrum of horticulture, viniculture is but one small aspect, but it is what draws our attention. While I speak of wine to my imaginary friend that sits across the table, in my mind’s conceit as I write, I just wish to impart the fun times and the enjoyment of wine. As I look at the huge assortment of wine labels that I have soaked off, that I still have not wrote about, I realize that I can write for years, longer than most people would be interested in. For every Chateau Latour or Domaine de la Romanee- Conti wine, there are perchance thousands of affordable wines that I have enjoyed. The same can be said for the restaurants that I have had the good graces to have dined at as well, and I do like to vary the mix. So, with that in mind I shall leave you with one of my favorite quotes about plants by Dorothy Parker; “you can lead a horticulture, but you can’t make her learn.”

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Four Years of Writing

  1. I’ve only just discovered your blog recently and am really enjoying your entries 🙂

  2. Duff's Wines says:

    Well d0ne, John. Four years is a bunch. Always enjoy your posts. Detroit was where a young lad from Southwestern Ontario went to get into trouble and I enjoy reading your reviews as it brings the city back to life for me.

    • Bill, that is interesting and I am glad that I can pen an article or two about the old days of Detroit. We spent a lot of time when I was growing up in Kingsville, Hamilton, Windsor and St. Catherines, so we may have crossed paths.

  3. It is always a pleasure to read your connection to wine and the world of wine. Congrats of four years and continuing!

  4. Congratulations. Big achievement. I really enjoy reading your blog.

  5. Oz's Travels says:

    4 years wow, enjoy reading your blog, keep up the so called “non-scholarly” work, it is pretty good!! Cheers

  6. Man this post got to me. My wine blog is a spiritual one. It’s been a year and a half so far and I still feel like a novice.

    • Fear not, we are all novices when it comes to Blogging. I am glad that you enjoyed the article. There is always a new way to look at, and to enjoy the wines. Keep writing and I shall keep reading. – John

  7. jimvanbergen says:

    Keep up the good work, my friend. As you can tell, you have a dedicated following of readers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

