Did I Miss a Winery?

It is always fun to hear about a winery, especially since I thought I missed one, and I did miss quite a few of them during our last trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake in Ontario.  One of my cast of characters that I have dubbed “The Messenger” sent me a photo of a bottle of wine that she was enjoying one day, while she was out and about with her daughter.  The next day while I was catching up on my reading of some of the other Wine Blogs that I follow, I discovered that Bill of Duff’s Wine wrote about the same winery.

Tawse Riesling 2014

 

The wine that I was informed about was Tawse Winery Riesling Niagara Peninsula VQA 2014.  At first I thought perhaps I had missed the winery and then upon further reflection, I realized that it was from the Niagara Peninsula and not from Niagara-on-the-Lake, where we had one of our holidays last year.  This area is part of the Niagara Escarpment and we had kind of passed it on our way, along the Queen Elizabeth Way, but it is located between Hamilton and St. Catherines, so I was a bit relieved, when I realized that it was not in the immediate area where we were touring.  Tawse Winery, Inc. is located in Vineland, Ontario, and they are not along side of the QEW, though I am sure that it was among the many wineries that were listed by the province as we drove the route.  Since I used to visit St. Catherines for years in my youth, this area was basically all orchards and mostly cherry farms.

Tawse Winery

 

Since Bill and The Messenger had both touted me on the wine and the winery, I had to do my research.  Tawse Winery, Inc. was the first winery ever to wine the Canadian Winery of the Year, three years in a row, which is 2010, 2011 and 2012 by the Canadian Wine Access Magazine.  The winemaker Paul Pender was also selected as the Winemaker of the Year in 2011 at the Ontario Wine Awards.  All in all some great accolades for the winery and of course, the wines.  I will venture to say, that the next time that my Bride and I make another journey to the Ontario wine country, I will definitely make a well deserved detour to see and try their wines.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did I Miss a Winery?

Leave a Reply

