MWWC#24: Pleasure

“Ya got pleasure Folks! Right here in River City, pleasure with a capital ‘P’ and that rhymes with ‘V’ and that stands for Vino.”

It is certainly a fact that Meredith Wilson did not write those words for Professor Harold Hill, but we have another entry for the Monthly Wine Writing Challenge. The last Challenge was won by Ted who contributed an article for The Drunken Cyclist and  as his reward he has suggested the next theme and that theme is “pleasure.”

wine-stain Monthly Wine Challenge

If there is anything I know about is the pleasure of enjoying wine. Not to blow my own horn, but anyone that has endured my writing for any period of time will realize that is all I write about. Some may even question the sanity of my writing, as I meander around and finally get to the wine. If I was writing newspaper articles, I would probably be fired, because as they say “I tend to bury the lead.”

The majority of my writing is about the pleasurable times and how wine adds to the festivities. It is all I write about; there are holidays, birthdays, dinners and almost anything gathering of friends or relatives that are not enhanced by the addition of wine to the moment.

Trouble

Wine that glorious beverage that has been around for centuries and has even been suggested to have been created by my ancestors of yore. Wine in any form, to me, makes the occasion more pleasurable. I have had enjoyable moments with bulk wines, boxed wines and even sometimes the nectar of the Gods, those fabulous wines that every wine writer wishes to associate themselves with.

After the Challenge is announced, I usually ponder what I can write about. I thought of rehashing earlier articles, which I have done at times, and I realized that wine and pleasure go hand in hand with all of my writings. I also realized that I tend to be all over the board with wines and my arcane asides, which only please me. I think of some of the cast of characters that I sometimes allow to invade my writing, because I can vicariously indulge in the pleasures that they confide in me about the wines that they have discovered. I may give them Damon Runyanesque or Dashiell Hammett nom de plumes, but that is my way of creating a mystique for some of my friends.

Aisle in the Cellar

Even my Bride is my Bride and I think of how she has evolved and she finds more and more pleasure from wines. When I first met her, she only drank white wines, when she wasn’t enjoying a Scotch and Water, while I would order a Whiskey Sour, and invariably the server would hand me her drink. As she slowly immersed herself into the wines that I would introduce her to, she discovered the pleasure of wines from all parts of the world. In fact I enjoy the fact that she now will want Cabernet Franc as her first choice, if she can get it.

When I was a youth drinking with my friends at the park with (God) forbid a bottle of Boone’s Farm, and if you are of a certain era like me, you can remember with a smile. Thankfully I discovered real wine during those days and I have not left that road since. Every bottle is a learning experience and another pleasurable moment and I realize that there are many bottles of wine that I have had, that will never be written about, until that moment that reminds me of another story, for that is what a Raconteur does.

Far Wall in Wine Cellar

The conceit of a Raconteur is to spread pleasure with his stories, sometimes with his tongue-in-cheek. This Raconteur has eschewed technicalities and for the most part, the wine jargon that is the stock and trade of the industry. Sometimes the color, the nose or even the terroir that one encounters from the particular wine may get a brief mention, because I tend to get stuck in the story and not how great I am for having a certain wine.

Once again I have meandered all across this article, because pleasure is where one finds it, and sometimes one has to see beyond the bottles to realize that one has found pleasure. I have found pleasure in so many ways; from building my own wine cellar that is now too small to the wonderful moments of dinners, tastings and tours. Though the real pleasure of wine is to be able to share the moment, sometimes just with my Bride and other times with a crowd. Family and friends are the vessel that makes the wine pleasure.

Corks for Trivet

 

“Ah sweet mystery of life, at last I found you”

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Monthly Wine Writing Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to MWWC#24: Pleasure

  1. talkavino says:

    Excellent post, John. I completely agree – wine give us lots of pleasure, in a lot of different ways.

  2. Duff's Wines says:

    Good post, John. Start emptying that cellar – more pleasure?

  3. Yes empty the cellar for more pleasure ! And I love that your bride loves Cab Franc!

  4. vinoinlove says:

    Great post, John! Enjoyed reading this!!

  5. Pingback: #MWWC24 Time to vote! | the drunken cyclist

  6. Oz's Travels says:

    Great post as usual!

Leave a Reply

