More New Wines

I am finally writing about the new wines that I received from my wine club A Taste of Monterey. Everyone that belongs to the club, probably received the wines a couple of weeks ago, but I asked that they delay shipping the wines, as it could be impacted by our recent trip to Las Vegas, and the club willingly obliged. I just enjoy great customer relations and service. As always the wines come with a pamphlet that contained an article about the varietal Pinot Blanc, an article about Stilton cheese, a recipe and a well written article about the passing of Richard Smith of Paraiso Vineyards, one of the “founding fathers” of Monterey County Wine. I have some wines from Paraiso Vineyards that I have mentioned from other shipments, but as of yet, they are still resting in my cellar, for future articles.

Pelerin SLH Pinot Noir 2012

The first wine that I received is Pelerin Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir 2012. I have received other wines from this winery and I have tried some as well, and so far I have been pleased with the wines. I am becoming quite a vocal fan of the Pinot Noir wines from Monterey County and especially from the Santa Lucia Highlands AVA. The aging potential for this wine is suggested as seven to eight years. Since I am not a winemaker, but from all that I have read, this varietal is very temperamental and is extremely hard to grow successfully, but not from this area; so I am looking forward to trying this wine.

Cima Collina Meritage 2010

The second bottle is Cima Collina Meritage 2010 from the San Antonio Valley AVA and I have to admit that the San Antonio Valley AVA is new to me. The fruit for this wine all came from the Lockwood Oaks Vineyard and this is the third Meritage wine produced by Cima Collina. The wine is a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Malbec, Cabernet Franc, Merlot and Petit Verdot. The wine was aged in both French and American Oak for fourteen months and the aging potential is eight to ten years. This will be the third wine from this winemaker for me as I have received a Pinot Noir and a Chardonnay from them.

Heller Estate Malbec 2012

The last bottle in the shipment was Heller Estate Malbec 2012 from the Carmel Valley AVA. I have written and tasted several of their wines over the years, as we have even visited the winery on one of our trips to Carmel-by-the-Sea. Heller Estate is an organic winery that was certified in 1996 and one of the pioneers of this approach in the Monterey area. I am looking forward to this wine, but I may wait as it also has an aging potential of eight to ten years. My Bride and I have been very happy with the selections that we have received over the many years, since we have joined this club.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

