Back to Salvatore’s

I don’t know about you, but when I am away for a vacation, I like to try new restaurants, because there are always new ones to be found. It seems that it is even truer now that I write these articles, so that I don’t sound repetitive about the venues or the wines. My Bride wanted to go dancing, so we went back to Salvatore’s, they even had the same entertainment, though she was a trifle upset when she found out that they no longer had a dance floor, but we even went back the next evening after dinner there, for drinks and we created our own dance floor, because the dinner crowd had thinned out, so we weren’t in anyone’s way.

Girard Artistry 2011

I also found out that the owners of Salvatore’s owns another restaurant that I had been to years back, that is still in existence in Las Vegas called Fellini’s, so I guess it was a double repeat in a sense. Salvatore’s specializes in Italian cuisine, but my Bride wanted salmon, so she ordered the Grilled Cedar Planked Salmon and she was pleased. I went with an Italian dish of Veal Scaloppine with Shrimp, because I can never get enough veal, and as I have stated often, it is one dish that we have not tried making at home.

NV Salvatore's Placard

We were both thinking of a real full bodied wine for that evening and I went with one of those Napa Valley Red Wines, which is usually a euphemism for a Meritage wine, for wineries that either don’t want to join the Meritage Society, or were making Bordeaux blended style wines prior to the formation of the society. We had a bottle of Girard Artistry Napa Valley Red Wine 2011 and what a great choice it was. The wine is a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Malbec, Petit Verdot and Merlot and aged for twenty months in a mix of new and old French Oak barrels. For a reasonably priced restaurant wine, it was everything one could want from a wine, the terroir was magnificent, the color and the nose were dead on, and there was nothing to miss with this wine. The other thing that I noticed that even for such a young wine, there was sediment that somehow always appears at the bottom of the glass as one gets near the end, and this wine may have even been more awesome if it had been decanted. A perfect evening, a perfect dinner, a perfect wine and of course a perfect date with my Bride, and the next night we even danced.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to Salvatore’s

  1. One of my favorite wines! Salud.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.