Malagousia

If you are like me, you may have never heard of the grape varietal Malagousia, which almost became extinct. I had to hear of this grape that is only grown in Greece, from a text and call from Las Vegas. My Bride went and joined her Sister and another friend for a girl’s trip and they were going to meet in Las Vegas and I had to hold down the fort here, but that is alright, because even my Bride needs time away from me. The three of them were sharing a suite on The Strip, and usually when we go to Las Vegas we stay out in Summerlin, because that is where two of our children live and five of our grandchildren.

Kitma Gerovassiliou Malagousia 2014

So we have three young ladies out enjoying Las Vegas and what do they do? They saw a couple of shows and they went out to eat, as all three of them are “foodies” and my Bride had the possible chance to have some food that I might pass on, because as much as I enjoy dining, I become a curmudgeon about certain types of food. One of the restaurants that they went to, that is germane to this story was Estiatorio Milos in The Cosmopolitan hotel that was near to where they were staying. Estiatorio Milos is a fancy Greek restaurant, which she told me was far different from the Greek restaurants that we have in the Detroit area. In fact they all raved about the food and the presentation, and to be truthful, any restaurant that is in one of the newer hotels on The Strip better be wonderful, no matter the type of cuisine it is, or they won’t last long in Las Vegas.

NV Milos Logo

After they had decided on the food selections, they started up with a debate about wines and they were looking at both domestic and imported wines, as in the Continent. The waiter suggest a Greek wine and the ladies were not sure, as I know that my Bride is not a fan of most Greek wines, but the waiter was insistent and volunteered not to charge them for the wine and to replace the bottle with another selection, if they were not pleased. Since the odds were in their favor, they decided to be bold, and were they pleased. The bottle in question was Kitma Gerovassiliou Single Vineyard Malagousia 2014 from Epanomi in the Halkidiki peninsula of Greece that juts into the Aegean Sea. This is a partially barrel fermented white wine and Vangelis Gerovassiliou is credited with saving the Malagousia grape from disappearing, as it was becoming a “non-grape” compared to some of the other grapes that have been planted there. As my Bride was so enthusiastic about this wine, I guess that I shall have to find it here locally if I can, so that she may try it again. Some times what happens in Vegas doesn’t always stay in Vegas.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Malagousia

  1. That’s amazing, had no idea that grapes ‘disappeared’. I’ve actually just started a food blog, just writing wee things about dining out in places in Glasgow. Things have been tough for me over the last few years but food is something that has always brought me comfort (not necessarily a good thing hahaha). Would love it if you were interested and wanted to have a look or give me a follow, it would mean a lot.

  2. Sally says:

    We’ve a few excellent Greek restaurants here in Dubai. I think I tasted Malagousia in one of them a long time ago. Time to revisit. I’m a big fan of crisp Assyrtiko.

Leave a Reply

