Super Bowl Sunday

There is a strong rumor that there is a sporting event called the Super Bowl coming up very soon; in fact by the time this is published it will be history. Everywhere one is bombarded by this coming event, wherever one goes. This is great and it gets adrenaline running. I have to admit though that my life does not revolve around this event, in fact in our house, it is a non-event. I was raised in a house where watching sports was not stressed and I never quite got the bug. I can play most sports, but I find watching them not exciting. I am hardly what a person one would call a jock. We share some spectacular season tickets for the Detroit Lions on the fifty yard line about ten rows up and the people that buy them from us greatly appreciate it. Detroit really has some of the most “die-hard” fans in the country. The only two sports that I am totally lost in, is Basketball and Soccer, which both strike me as organized chaos.

Kirkland Sonoma County Chardonnay 2014

I only bring this game up, because it is the tie-in for everything, so I guess that I will jump on the band wagon as well. Everywhere I look there are recipes for snacks to nosh on the entire length of the games, when tied in with pre-game shows, the game and then the analysis of what everyone watched, the entire Sunday is basically a day designed for eating and drinking. I get a kick out of reading about what wine goes best with greasy finger food proffered by everyone and his brother and sister. I am so out of touch with reality, I guess.

Kirkland California Chardonnay 2014

Over here at Command Central, we are in the midst of final preparations for a major party, which will actually be discussed the following weekend, when it ensues, so I will have future articles. So while the world is focused on this game, we will be whirling-dervishes making sure that the following weekend will go off without a hitch. Besides the big party, there will be a calm dinner here the night before, and then another party the day afterwards here. An amusing anecdote about this whole time is that my Bride has discovered that she really enjoys a glass a day of Kirkland Signature Sonoma County Chardonnay 2014. Kirkland Signature is the house brand of the monster big-box store known as Costco, who is now regarded as the largest wine seller in the United States. I have to admit that this is a fine bottle of wine for everyday and even fine to offer guests in a pinch, especially if it is already in the refrigerator. She was at her Mother’s home the other day visiting and her Brother-in-Law was going to Costco, so she gave him some money and asked if he could pick up a six-pack of the wine. I had to laugh when she called me, when she was driving home, that he returned with six magnum bottles for what she normally pays for the single bottle at the Costco that she usually shops at. I laughed and said that it probably was not the same bottle of wine, that instead of the Sonoma County Chardonnay, it was probably the more generic California Chardonnay, where the fruit could have been harvest across the entire state. When she came home and we were unpacking the car, sure enough the magnum bottles were Kirkland Signature California Chardonnay 2014, so we shall see how much she likes the one compared to the other. It may be the biggest upset on Super Bowl Sunday at least here.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Super Bowl Sunday

  1. Jill Barth says:

    Hopefully it’s good — six magnum’s worth!

  2. shez says:

    How did it go? Hopefully it was delicious! Or drinkable…or set aside for white sangria…

  3. okiewinegirl2015 says:

    There is a rumor of Costco coming…. I will now dream of the magnums they sell!

Leave a Reply

