I Encourage Everyday Wines

Lest everybody think that Wine Bloggers drink nothing but expensive wines, that is not true, well perhaps some do. I am just a working man that enjoys wine. Most of the people that I am around are also working people and some of them enjoy wines as well. I encourage people to drink wine and I know that some will discover new wines and keep this approach. Others find a wine and they are happy with a certain wine and let’s face it, the big wineries make their living trying to satisfy this type of drinker. We tend to have a lot of parties at our house and people like to bring wines to offer as gifts and to show their appreciation, as they know that my Bride and I always seem to have wines open to share. I try to only write about two wines per article, so as not to create overkill. Some of the wines that I write about are very esoteric and some are not, it is because I feel that wine makes the event, and the majority of the time, the wine is not the event. If there are several of bottles open for a party, I try to write about, what I think people will find most interesting.

Lindemans Bin 85 Pinot Grigio 2015

Periodically, I have to go into the garage and start clearing out some of the accumulation there, to keep the garage relatively neat. I usually take about a dozen empty wine bottles in to save the labels for my scrap book, and then the bottles go into the recycling bin, unless I know someone that is making wine and then I save the bottles for them. I always like to look at the different wines, and I know that I have actually sampled just about every wine that ends up an empty bottle in the garage. I like to see what other people like in a wine, as most will never try a First Growth Medoc. To give you one example, there was a bottle of Barefoot Chardonnay, a California wine, which automatically tells you that the fruit could have been harvested anywhere in the state. This is a bulk wine that is very affordable and over the years they have maintained a certain consistency of taste, as they sell the wine by the cases. While some may scoff at these wines that can be bought in convenience stores, drug stores, grocery stores and even now in the State of Michigan at gas stations, they probably keep more people happy and content, then the cult wines of Napa can.

Barefoot Chardonnay

After removing the labels, I discovered that there were two labels from the same firm, but different vintages, but of recent opening here at the house. I can understand that, as each store buys so many cases of the wine and then replenishes as needed. Some stores have faster turn around of their inventory, so while one store may have one vintage another store will have the new vintage. Consequently during the same batch of label removing I discovered Lindeman’s Bin 85 Pinot Grigio 2014 and 2015. Once again Lindeman’s is a major supplier of bulk wines in Australia, and these big batch wines are readily available in the States. Pinot Grigio is a very easy drinking wine and has developed quite the following in a rather short period of time. Is it sexy, no it isn’t, but wines like this are made for the occasional drinker, or the wine drinker that wishes to be fiscally responsible. I know that there are many times when we are out, that I may start the evening off with Pinot Grigio and then go in another direction. If someone asks my opinion of a wine that they bring over, I thank them, and casually may suggest that they look for a similar wine from another producer, so they can compare it on their own, if they so desire. After all, I would like to see even more people drinking wine and we all have to start somewhere.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Encourage Everyday Wines

  1. I could not agree more! It’s about the experience, the wine or whatever is sometimes just the prop. I like my bottles under $20, and even under $10 in most cases. Ah cases lol. Pun not intended.

Leave a Reply

