What Wine Goes Best With a Blackout?

The old saw goes “when it rains, it pours” and I am not talking about salt. I was just having a bad day, I had a temporary crown, which popped off, and I had to go see my dentist, and I was also sent to see an endodontist, who decided that I was going to need a root canal, before the crown was cemented in. My Bride went with me and as we were driving home, it started to snow and to sleet, not a good omen, but considering the great weather we had been having, it wasn’t bad. I had started a regimen of antibiotics and some low grade pain pills to help, until everything was corrected. I was on the computer doing some writing, when all of a sudden I heard some strange sound outside and then the lights flickered and then the power went out. Then they came back on, so all was good. Then everything went black.

Sterling Chardonnay Central Coast 2012

It is wonderful that we have enough candles to supply the Vatican City for maybe half the year, so between flashlights and candles we were surviving. It is strange how one takes for granted the electricity and the shock one encounters when the electricity is off. There is the usual running around to shut of the computers. Then we both discovered that our cell phones were low, so we plugged them into the car, which thankfully was in the driveway and we allowed them to build up a proper charge. My poor Bride was bereft of her television and I was without my computer, but we came up with an idea. We suggested that we play the card game known as Cribbage. My Bride loves card games and board games, so she quickly got a deck of cards and one of our Cribbage boards and we were playing in a semi-lit dining room.

Cribbage Board

She asked what wine goes with Cribbage and I thought any wine that was open would do the trick. I really did not want to open up either of the two refrigerators, because there was no guarantee when the power would return and hopefully nothing would go bad, during the outage. She then remembered that there was a bottle of wine in an extra cooler that was in the library, left over from a couple of days ago. I thought to myself that the wine would pair perfectly with the evening, as I really did not want to go through the endeavor of trying to open a new bottle of wine in the darkness. So for the record I got a chance to relive a winery that we visited when we were in Napa Valley, but the panoramic disposable camera that we had purchased for the trip was defective and we had lost all the photographs, but not the memories of the visit. We may not have the aerial photographs from the gondolas at Sterling Vineyards, but we were enjoying some of their craft just the same. We were drinking Sterling Vintner’s Collection Chardonnay Central Coast 2012, and while it was not from Napa, we could still remember the moment and the wine helped the evening along. It is intriguing that wine can make almost any moment better, and I am an advocate of that belief. Thankfully the power was restored the following afternoon.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Wine Goes Best With a Blackout?

  1. dwdirwin says:

    I guess you went with the whole saying of “making lemonade out of lemons” 🙂

  2. Sterling is a great winery to visit. The views are truly breathtaking! I am glad you were able to make the most of your day, and got to spend some unplugged, old-school, quality time with your Bride.
    Cheers!

    • Yes, I agree that Sterling is a great winery to visit, both for the wines and for the scenery. As I lamented, I wish that we had the photographs that we had taken, just another reason to go back, as if I need much prodding to go to Napa. Thank you for stopping by. – John

  3. Sounds like it turned into a lovely evening. Hope all is well now!

  4. Making the best out of a bad situation. Plus, you are the only other person I know who plays cribbage. I have to teach everyone I want to ply with. Now I just play on my iPad

Leave a Reply

