August is Washington Wine Month

According to the Wine Lover’s Calendar the month of August for Washington wines and that is what I will chat about. I have to admit, that beyond a few of the big players from Washington there is not a lot of Washington wine to be found in my home state. I find that kind of funny because, even though Washington State is relatively new for winemaking, it now produces so much wine, that it is only second to California for production. Things are improving though, because last year, I did attend a wine tasting of only Washington State wines and I wrote about that evening.

Three Chateau Ste Michelle

One of the great things about writing this Blog is that I actually force myself to go out and try new wines and new areas, and as I do this I actually learn more, and when I first started writing I thought I had a good grasp about wine, and the more I discover, the more I realize that I only had a basic knowledge, but I had a great chance to enjoy some wonderful wines back in the day. I mean not only did I learn about Washington being second in overall production in the States, but I also learned that due to the latitudes in Washington, that during the growing season, they average two hours more sun, than California. I also discovered that between the soil, and the climate, it is almost impossible for Phylloxera to occur in Washington State, which I am sure makes the wineries and vineyards happy.

Corvidae Lenore Syrah 2012

The main varietals for Washington are Chardonnay, Riesling, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Syrah, but many more types can already be found there as well. There are also plenty of wines to discover, far beyond just a Washington label. There are plenty of sub-regions to try, which can make for more fun when searching for a new wine to try. The regions are: Ancient Lakes of Columbia Valley, Columbia Gorge – Washington, Columbia Valley, Horse Heaven Hills, Lake Chelan, Naches Heights, Puget Sound, Rattlesnake Hills, Red Mountain, Spokane County, Wahluke Slope, Walla Walla Valley and Yakima Valley. It is time for me to practice what I am espousing, so the next bottle from the cellar shall be a bottle from Washington State that we bought at the wine tasting.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

