A Big Thank You

“Who’d a thunk it?” I just have to take a moment to thank my peers, the fellow Wine Bloggers that voted for the last Wine Writers Challenge. I had the good fortune to be selected this time as the “winner” for the Challenge. I have always tried to live up to the challenge, but there are so many fine Wine Bloggers that just trying to keep up with the quality of writing that they do is a challenge by itself. Jim van Bergen of JVB Uncorked had won the challenge and the theme he had selected was “finish.” I was sort of petrified by the theme, as I wrote that I do not usually write descriptors and notes about a wine, as that is not my forte. As I reread my entry several times, proof-reading and just checking to see if it sounded like me, my one concern was that it sounded a bit like a rant, because it was not a subject that I usually write about.

winnermwwc

As our gracious coordinator of the Challenge, Jeff of The Drunken Cyclist mentioned, it was a slow month for the challenge as on seven authors entered, which probably helped my chances. The high count for the Challenge so far has been twenty-five entrants which does make for a more interesting race, just compare it to a little horse race that will be off and running in a day or two in Louisville. Though I was happy to learn from Jeff’s announcement that I had come in second a number of times; which surprised and pleased me that my labors have not been all in vain. I do believe that I have entered submissions to every Challenge, only because it makes me write an essay that is out of my comfort zone, and when one is a Raconteur comfort is part of the dialogue. I guess my writing has been noted by more peers and as I said earlier “a big thank you.”

123rd Kentucky Derby

As most of the Wine Bloggers know, the award for winning the Challenge is to pick the next “theme.” Since this Raconteur tends to write about current wines as well as discussing wines from years ago, I am going to lean toward nostalgia. Jeff will make the official announcement along with the required dates for the next Challenge. So the “theme” that I have decided on is “Epiphany” and I do not mean in the classic religious concept, though if one can make it work, all the better. I am using the theme “Epiphany” for that one wine that really changed your attitude towards wine and created your appreciation for wine and what it offered you, and started your new journey of appreciation. I think that this will be a fun read. Once again, a big thank you to all the Wine Bloggers that have entered in the different Challenges and all that took the time to vote.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Monthly Wine Writing Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Big Thank You

  1. talkavino says:

    That’s going to be a tough one, John. I know, this is why this is called a “Challenge”, True, I was lucky enough to come across amazing wines, but I never describe any of those wine encounters as an Epiphany. Cheers!

  2. vinoinlove says:

    Once again congratulations on winning, John! The theme sounds very interesting and maybe I will finally join the MWWC by contributing a post. I already have an idea in mind 🙂 Cheers!

  3. Well deserved win!!!

Leave a Reply

