“The Caller” Goes to St. Elmo Steak House in Indianapolis

Imagine my surprise to get another call from “The Caller” to give me another tweak on my nose that he was out and about having a second fine dinner while spending time in Indianapolis. He can go for months with no contact and then he bombards me with new texts about the wonderful evenings he is having. Actually I think that I would and should reciprocate when my Bride and I are out and about.

Muga Rioja Reserva 2010

“The Caller” went to a local steak house in Indianapolis, and that is my favorite type of place to discover. They went to St. Elmo Steak House and I had to do some research on the establishment and now I am jealous that we had not been there. This restaurant is listed in the Wine Spectator dining guide and is listed at having 965 wine selections and I had a chance to search the wine list on line and it is very impressive, though they are listed as being expensive for wine pricing, which is a downer. They are also very proud of a product that they produce and sell to take home; their proprietary spicy shrimp cocktail sauce that is loaded with horseradish according to the reviews and discussions. The restaurant is very proud of the fact that they use many locally grown and/or produced products and list the sources as well. When I was reading the menu, which reads like most fine high end steak houses there one was one item that really caught my attention and that is a lamb porterhouse steak, which sounds very enticing.

IN St Elmo Facade

The wine my friend chose for to accompany his dinner, is a wine that I enjoy, and so does he, because he has texted me in the past with the same wine, albeit a different vintage. They were enjoying a bottle of Muga Rioja Reserva DOCa 2010. This is wine from the most important of the three sub-regions of Rioja, namely the Rioja Alta. The wine is a blend of Tempranillo, Garnacha, Mazuelo and Graciano and because it is a Reserva, the wine spends two years in oak, and then another year in bottle at the winery before it can be sold. Rioja wines are always a go-to wine for me and I do recommend them to everyone. He later texted me that he and his charming wife after having dinner at St. Elmo went back to Capital Grille to have a night cap, she had Campari and he had another glass of the Taylor-Fladgate, though he complained that she kept drinking his Porto. “The Caller” did send me another text the next day saying that when they got to South Bend they took it easy and had chicken for dinner washed down with beer and Irish Whiskey, so that shall be it for awhile until his next adventure or until my Bride and I can get together with them.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

