I Can’t Believe That I Found One More Bottle of Wine

I thought I was all done writing about errant bottles of wine that were waylaid over the years in the family room.  After pulling everything out of the family room, so that it could get a new coat of paint and a fresh new look. As I was emptying out the liquor cabinet in the family room, all of the bottles were boxed up, until I could go through them and make some “managerial” decisions; of course that meant consulting with my Bride as to whether some of the bottles should be kept. There were some bottles that I don’t even remember buying, and there were some that neither of us even remembers ever drinking, even in our youth. This new dilemma required that I restock my liquor cabinet in the dining room, to make sense of everything I have.

San Felipe La Rural Vino Tinto 1997

Not only did I have a mess of boxes from stuff that I dragged out of the family room, I also found that I had a mess of stuff that had been packed into the liquor cabinet in the dining room, so a thorough cleaning was called upon. We like to entertain, but I was amazed at the selection of whiskeys, whiskys, bourbons, white liquors and exotic liquors that we had amassed. Then there was the collection of liqueurs that we had acquired for cocktails or to use in special dinner recipes. There were some bottles that my Bride had forgotten about and I could see that she was thinking of some new recipes, and some she just made a face at.

San Felipe Gift Box
Lo and behold in the liquor cabinet in the dining room was a gift box of a wine, which was mistaken for a bottle of liquor. At a quick look at the box, it does appear to be more of a bottle of liquor, because it is shaped like a canteen, or maybe the “cantil” bottles of Portugal that one sometimes encounters for a bottle of Rose wine. This wine was produced by San Felipe Bodegas of Maipo, Mendoza and the name of the wine is San Felipe La Rural Vino Tinto 1997. I had to do some research on this wine, because when I saw that it said Vino Tinto I expected a light red wine, perhaps on the sweeter or fruity side, but instead this is actually a Bordeaux or Claret style of wine. When one thinks of Claret the varietals of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Petit Verdot, Malbec and Carmenere do come to mind; and when one thinks of Mendoza in Argentina one can easily think of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Malbec and Carmenere. This forgotten bottle of wine is another wine that I think I will open in the near future, just to discover what it is like, or lament that it was not stored properly. Time will tell.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Can’t Believe That I Found One More Bottle of Wine

  1. When i saw the title i was expecting to read that you found t between sofa cushions along 53 cents. But the rest of the post didnt disappoint.

Leave a Reply

