Back to the View

On one of the days in sunny Las Vegas, my Bride requested that we have lunch at the View Wine Bar & Kitchen, where I had lunch a couple days earlier with my Son, while she had Sushi with the girls, our Daughter and Daughter-in-Law. I think she felt left out, as this has become one of her favorite destinations when we are in Summerlin. So we had a leisurely walk over to the Tivoli Village from our hotel; of course for me it is a leisurely walk, but for her it is always a power walk in which I have to slow her pace down.

Schloss Vollrads Riesling 2012

She was all excited about lunch, but first we walked around the shops, just in case there was something that was calling her name, I mean why not tie a lunch date with some shopping. When we got to the restaurant which is on the second floor overlooking the circle and entrance way of the Tivoli Village, we were taken to a nice table with the best view the restaurant afforded. She started off with an appetizer of Tivoli wrapped dates with almonds, goat cheese and Prosciutto; I let her enjoy this appetizer all by herself, as I am a fan of neither dates nor goat cheese. We then ordered two different entrée plates from the dinner menu, even though it was lunch, the staff was very accommodating. We had Lobster Mac with Parmesan and Brandy Cream and an order of Tuna Tartare Nachos with orange, Arugula, avocado and lime Crema. As we were enjoying the dishes, she smiled at me as I was having some of the Tuna Tartare and reminded me that I was basically eating Sushi, and I replied that I know that Tuna Tartare is a basic part of Sushi, but this dish was more inviting and was not accompanied with seaweed (yes, I know that I am a wimp, but certain foods just are not appealing to me).

Ventana Pinot Noir 2011
We also had a couple of white wines. I ordered a glass of Schloss Vollrads Estate Riesling Qualitatswein 2012. I did this in honor of our dear friend Oliver of the Winegetter fame, who we would be seeing a couple of weeks later after our trip. This particular Riesling wine was considered “dry” and I found it very refreshing after our walking around. Schloss Vollrads Estate is in the Rheingau region of Germany, and the Rheingau is considered the more “masculine” of wines, as compared to the Mosel wines which are termed “feminine;” this is similar to the concept of Bordeaux and Burgundy in France. While I was enjoying my wine, which I am surprised to say that my Bride enjoyed; she chose a more robust wine for herself. She ordered a glass of Ventana Pinot Noir 2011, which is made in the Arroyo Seco appellation of Monterey. This wine is aged for ten months in French Oak barrels before bottling and offered a good representation of what we expect from a Pinot Noir from the Monterey District. We also drifted back to the time when we had lunch at the Ventana Inn & Spa in Big Sur, not far from Carmel-by-the-Sea. The memories that we have enjoyed from wine, is always wonderful.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to the View

  1. John, first of all: thanks for honoring me (!), second, you really nailed it with describing Rheingau Riesling as it compares to Mosel Riesling. I’ve seen the Vollrads at our Kroger, so should definitely pick up a bottle and try it out. Did you know Vollrads has been making wine for 800 years?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schloss_Vollrads

    See you in a few days!!

Leave a Reply

