Another Club Meeting at the Plymouth Crossing

The best laid plans of mice and men, as the old adage goes, I think of as I make plans for my dinner club meeting. I perform a certain service for the club, beyond the membership status, as a way to help the club produce some extra funds for the year. Something came up for this past meeting, and I figured that I was going to miss the cocktail hour, as well as the dinner portion and just show up for the business section of the meeting. As luck would have it, the restaurant had a delay, and so the club performed some of the business meeting early, and the dinner portion of the evening was delayed. When I got there, I may have missed the cocktail hour and the camaraderie of the hour, but I was able to join in for the dinner, and there was still time for my portion of the business, which always concludes the session.

Cecchi Chianti Classico 2011

We had a choice of three different entrée dinners for the evening, as is the usual case for the meeting. There was a choice of a Rib Eye steak with bleu cheese and caramelized onions, a Panko encrusted salmon sautéed served on Japanese Cole Slaw and a Chicken Marsala with Fettuccine. As I hadn’t planned on dinner that night, it was a delightful surprise that I could join the group. I had the rib eye steak, minus the crumbled bleu cheese and I was a very happy camper.

MI The Plymouth Crossing Menu

As I scanned the wine list, after deciding what I was going to have for dinner, I decided to have a full bodied red wine and the best offering I saw was an Italian Chianti. The Cecchi Chianti Classico 2011 was what one would expect from this wine. Since it was a Chianti Classico, the Sangiovese wine was aged for a year after harvest and then stored in bottles for a couple of months prior to being released, these are set requirements for any “Classico” wines. The wine was harvested from the Castellina area of this delineated region, and one should always expect a certain modicum of quality for this wine, because of the rules of the association.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

