The Lakes Bar & Grille and Déjà vu

Sometimes happenstance brings good fortune and it can also be a cause for déjà vu. For some odd reason, most times the job of selecting a restaurant falls into my lap. Most of the time, it is rather easy, as I hear or read about so many different venues, that I can usually rattle off a few, off the top of my head; other times I may have to do some research, which is not all that bad. Our son and his family offered to take us out for dinner to celebrate my Bride’s birthday. My mission was to find a suitable restaurant between our house and their house, and the city of Commerce, Michigan was just about right. I did a search on the internet and found a couple of candidates, but one intrigued me more, because of the positive reviews and a mention of a well thought out wine list; I was sold and the decision was made.

Flowers Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir 2011

We were off to the Lakes Bar & Grille and I have to admit with the new roads, it was a much easier destination than it used to be. As we were watching for the address numbers, we ended up at the restaurant and upon entering, it was déjà vu. It was the Commerce Grille from years back, and the basic room structure was almost as I remembered it. We got a booth off in a corner that was perfect for five diners. When I told the hostess that I had been there, when it was the Commerce Grill, she looked at me in a surprised state, but I told her that I had fond memories of the old restaurant.

The menu while not large had some very good choices and reasonably priced, as we were guests, it was something we paid attention to without making it noticeable, and truthfully there were only a few entrees that were more expensive than the majority. My Bride had a seared Ahi Tuna salad that was not on the menu, but was suggested by our waitress. I decided on a Macaroni and Cheese dish that was beyond the norm. The five cheeses in the dish were all within my comfort level, as I have stated in the past, I have a problem with certain cheeses. Beyond the Macaroni and Cheese or should I say beneath it was a layer of tenderloin tips in a butter (Zip) sauce, and above the main part of the dish was chopped lobster; instead of mixed vegetables they brought me as a side Bourbon candied onions. It reminded me of a Lobster Newburg in a sense with steak. The dish was very rich and satisfying, and my Bride told me later, that I had the better of our two dishes. There was also freshly baked bread and whipped butter. For dessert we shared a Crème Brulee in a classic presentation. The food was just as good, as the old restaurant, and my Bride decided that we shall be going there again, because of the food and for the logistics.

MI The Lakes Bar & Grille BC

We had gotten there early, because the travel time compared to the old days was cut in half, and we also wanted to select a bottle of wine for dinner and pay for it separately, since only the two of us drank wine, so why should we burden our son with an added expense like that. There were several potential wines that I could have chosen, but I ended up with a bottle of Flowers Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir 2011. I thought a Pinot Noir would pair with the (I hoped) creaminess of the Macaroni and Cheese dish, as well as the seared Ahi Tuna. Flowers Vineyards & Winery produce five different Pinot Noir wines depending on the vineyard where the fruit came from. The wine we had, the Sonoma Coast was the basic wine of the group and it was delicious. If there basic wine is that good I shall have to look for some of the designated vineyards at another time. All in all, it was a delightful evening, great conversation, wonderful food and a charming new wine; all for my Bride and may she have many, many more birthdays.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Lakes Bar & Grille and Déjà vu

  1. Flowers Pinot Noir….drooling…:) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

