Another Halloween

It is hard to believe that another year has passed, and we attended another Halloween party/ October birthdays. There was a few less in attendance, because of the football season and people on vacation. As is always the case for a Halloween party some will come to the party, only for the party and will skip the frivolity of a costume, which I have to say negates the theme of the party. Though there was enough in costume to make it proper and some of the costumes were very good and fun. One of the guests had even decided that Halloween should be celebrated with fireworks, but a neighbor disagreed, and I do have to admit, that it was a loud fire cracker explosion.

Guglielmo PR Syrah SLH 2010

There was an array of foods, starting with appetizers for the revelers to enjoy: from cheese and crackers to a “fruit pizza.” There were also several salads, vegetables, Eggplant Parmagiano, Lasagna and meatballs. The desserts were plentiful as well, including a homemade pumpkin shaped cake that was decorated perfectly. There was plenty of food for the guests and all seemed happy and well fed.

Chateau Suzeau 2010

Our efforts for the evening besides have costumes, was my Bride’s Caesar Salad, decorated cup cakes and we also brought some wine for the occasion. My Bride had bought a couple of magnums of wine for the partiers, from I believe now the largest wine merchant in the United States, namely Costco. She brought a magnum of Kirkland California Cabernet Sauvignon 2013, and a magnum of Kirkland Chardonnay 2013, which were two good choices for a party. One of the other guests brought a bottle of Chateau Suzeau 2010 from the Cotes du Rhone. I complimented him on his choice on a good dependable red wine, and he told me that I had mentioned to him that he could never go wrong with a Cotes du Rhone wine and he had tried several of them over the past year. The typical blend for a Cotes du Rhone wine is Grenache, Syrah and Mouvedre varietals. I had also brought along a wine that I wanted to try, that we had received from our wine club out of Monterey, a bottle of Guglielmo Private Reserve Syrah 2010 from the Santa Lucia Highlands of Monterey County, California. I have to admit that so far, I have not been disappointed with any of the wines that I have received from the club and this was one of the best Syrah wines that I have had. Oh, by the way, my costume that I had created from an old suit won the “Most Original” award for the evening.

Halloween Costumes 2014

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Halloween

  1. Duff's Wines says:

    Ok, I’m curious, what was your alter ego?

Leave a Reply

