Cain Five Makes an Anniversary Even Better

Everybody has a date or dates that make them smile and want to celebrate. I guess that I am no different, though I like to celebrate the memory with a bottle of wine, as if anyone would be surprised. My Bride and I just celebrated our nineteenth anniversary and is our usual custom; we exchange greeting cards in the morning, during coffee and breakfast, before we start off on our day. I knew that we were not going to go out for dinner that evening as she was mentoring; my Bride does a myriad of volunteer work in her off hours in hopes of benefiting others. Along with mentoring she is also does a form of counseling, actually more of a type of sounding board, as she only has a limited amount of training in a certain school of counseling that she has studied for. Suffice it to say, that some of the individuals that she has encountered have continued their contacts with her long after her assignments have ceased, but that is just because of her personality and her deep caring.

Cain Five 1998

Since I knew that we would not be going out, as it would be a very late dinner by the time she got home, I know that we will eventually go out to celebrate the event. We tend to go out for dinner often, so we do not have worry about the actual date. One of the memories tied into our wedding anniversary was that on the night that we married it was Sweetest Day and we supplied our guests with small boxes of chocolate to mark the day. Sweetest Day is a holiday that is celebrated in the mid-western states and was started in Cleveland, Ohio and has kind of morphed into a second Valentine’s Day for many, and some people eschew the holiday as a commercial event, though the day originally had an altruistic beginning. As Sweetest Day is not the same date every year, we marked that date as well, because it has especially fond memories for us.

Anniversary Card

That evening as I was doing some research, my Bride phoned me and asked if I wanted to meet her somewhere after she left her mentoring session and I declined. I did enjoy her next suggestion of how about bringing up a bottle of wine from the cellar for when she got home. That was a “no-brainer” and I went and grabbed a couple of bottles, to allow her to make the selection, of course I knew which bottle she would decide on. She chose a bottle of Cain Five 1998, which was a favorite of mine from the first time I tried it. Since that first time, I have been a fan of this wine and we even went to the winery on a trip we made to Napa years ago. Cain Five is one of those wonderful Bordeaux style red blends that many firms market as a “Meritage.” Cain Vineyard & Winery still market their wine as Cain Five and they list the percentages of each varietal for each vintage, which does change; this wine is made from Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Petit Verdot, Cabernet Franc and Malbec. My Bride was a little concerned that we may have kept this wine too long, but I was not, as I have appreciated the winemaker’s craft over the years. Upon opening the bottle, the cork was in perfect shape and the nose was not musty, two great items to notice on an older bottle of wine. The first taste was a concentration of terroir and it made my Bride a bit hesitant that her first concern was true, but we allowed the wine to breathe for just ten minutes and it was perfect. After sixteen years, this wine was not showing any faults and I am glad that we still have some more of it in the cellar. All I can add to this story is Happy Anniversary my dear and “Here’s looking at you, kid.”

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cain Five Makes an Anniversary Even Better

  1. I have had this wine…nice! Happy Anniversary.

  2. Happy Anniversary to you both!

  3. asueba says:

    I think I have another 2 more bottles in the wine fridge. My husband and I celebrate our anniversary every year with a meal of Peking Duck, for just the 2 of us. And we ended up eating duck for the next few days after that…LOL.

    • That is a wonderful way to celebrate your anniversary with such a great tradition. I have to admit that I am very fond of Pinot Noir with duck, but I would never say no to Cain Five. I am glad to say that I still have about six bottles left and they are guarded. LOL
      – John

Leave a Reply

