Another Shipment from A Taste of Monterey

The latest delivery arrived from the only wine club, that I subscribe to, and that is A Taste of Monterey. I have discussed in past articles how pleased I have been from the wines that I have received from them, and it looks like I will continue from the latest shipment.

Sierra Mar Pelerin Chardonnay SLH 2012

The first wine is Sierra Mar Vineyard Pelerin Chardonnay 2012 from the Santa Lucia Highlands. There were 333 cases produced of this wine, and according to the information that was enclosed, 2012 was cool enough to allow for excellent maturity at lower sugar levels and higher natural acidity. This particular wine is likened to Chablis and Burgundy, with an aging potential of four to six years. I am sure that this will be true, as I have had a Pinot Noir 2009 and a Chardonnay 2010 from this winery as well and both were thoroughly enjoyable.

Tudor Pinot Noir SLH 2010

The next wine got my attention as the last bottle of this wine, I had sent to my Brother-in-Law, and the next thing I know was that we ended up ordering eighteen more bottles of it, as he was smitten with the 2007 vintage. Tudor Santa Lucia Highland Pinot Noir 2010 is the new bottle we received, and there were 300 cases of this wine produced; and the aging potential for this wine is estimated at five to six years. Pinot Noir as far as I am concerned has found a home in the Monterey district, and excels in the Santa Lucia Highlands. I have also wrote about their other wine Tudor Tondre Reserve Pinot Noir Santa Lucia Highlands 2007 and I have some of that left to be able to watch how it matures.

Guglielmo PR Syrah SLH 2010

The final bottle in the shipment is a new one to me. Guglielmo Winery is a third generation winemaker that started in 1925, and they have three different labels and have production of about 40,000 cases a year among their Guglielmo Private Reserve, TRE and their oldest label Emile’s. The wine that I am looking forward to try is Guglielmo Private Reserve Syrah Santa Lucia Highlands 2010. There were 341 cases produced of this wine, so when you compare it to the total production from the winery, this is just a drop in the bucket and this winery may actually have merit in using “private reserve;” and the aging potential calls for six to eight years. I anticipate that this shipment will be another successful collection as have all of the others over the years.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Shipment from A Taste of Monterey

  1. Pellerin’s SLH Pinot is quite good as well. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

