Another Quick Dinner Out

There are nights when one has to eat, and the desire to create something is missing from the equation. That was the situation the other night when I got the message, to just have a quick bite and relax. We had nothing planned for the evening, it was early in the evening and my Bride suggested going back to Fleming’s for dinner and wine. She thought that I might enjoy another glass of the Caymus Anniversary Cab and a burger, but it was a rather warm day, and I felt like something lighter; and I still can’t get over that thought as it does not sound like me.

Kris Pinot Grigio 2013

The nice thing about having a dinner in the bar area of Fleming’s is that it can be casual or the full nine yards for dining. We were just going to enjoy several small plates and share between us, and hopefully no use of cell phones as well. We started off with a couple of bowls of the house made potato chips, and then we split an order of Baked Brie, as I think this is one of my Bride’s favorite appetizers anywhere. Then we had plates of Tenderloin Carpaccio with a creamy Mustard Sauce with capers, greens and Crostinis. There was also a plate of the Salt and Pepper Shrimp with battered green beans and battered lemon slices (which were like candy almost). The last plate that we shared was Roasted Mushroom Ravioli and I think this was the winner of the evening as it just had a wonderful flavor, in fact we should have ordered another plate, it was that good, but in actuality we were full from these small plates with no room for dessert.

Avalon Cabernet Sauvignon 2012

We started off with glasses of Kris Pinot Grigio IGT 2013. Kris Wines are from the Trentino-Alto Adige area of Italy that I have discussed in the near past, this is the summer, and so a Pinot Grigio is always a good choice on a warm day. It is light, a bit acidic and very refreshing. The other wine that we tried that evening was from Avalon Winery of Napa Valley. The Avalon Cabernet Sauvignon 2012 carries a California appellation as it is a blend of grapes from three areas; Napa Valley, Paso Robles and Lodi. It was a very tasty wine, but I think it was a bit heavy for the small plates that we were sharing, but I think that I may give it another try with other dishes. That evening I think the Pinot Grigio was the winner even with the Tenderloin Carpaccio, what can I say, I must be a slight rebel to bend the rules at times.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

