A Casual Dinner

It was time for a quick dinner, but a nice dinner. There are only a few restaurants that I go to repeatedly and Fleming’s Steak House is one of them. When we are in a hurry we like to eat in the bar area, as opposed to the dining room, perhaps a little louder, but a more casual atmosphere and since the food all comes from the same kitchen, all is good.

Caymus Cabernet Sauvignon 2012

We were taking advantage of their special early dinner menu that is only offered in the bar, and since we were in a hurry, why not? We shared a dish of Baked Brie as well as a bowl of their house made potato chips that are extra crispy and are much better than any commercial chips that are on the market. My Bride chose a new dish for her, Salt and Pepper Shrimp which was tasty and not salty like she was a bit concerned about, as that is not her favorite spice. My self I decided to have their burger, which is one of the best bar burgers I have ever encountered, though they eliminated the onion rings and it now comes with French fries, but these fries also had taste to them. So often when I end up with a side of fries, they end up on the plate after I am through eating, because most places make them with out any regard to flavor or taste. These were well cooked and flavorful, who knows I may start liking potatoes again.

Terranoble Sauvignon Blanc 2013

My Bride much to my amazement wanted to have a cocktail instead of a glass of wine, because there was a “Blueberry Lemon Drop” being offered that she thought sounded intriguing, but it was a little bit tarter than she expected. I started off with a glass of Terranoble Sauvignon Blanc 2013 from the Central Valley of Chile. The Central Valley is the largest appellation for Chile and the most lax; it is like the California appellation. Afterwards I had a wonderful glass of wine that was bundled with my burger, and I did not even notice the signage on the booth table, but my Bride did, and I am so glad that she did. I was enjoying a glass of Caymus Cabernet Sauvignon 2012, which celebrates Caymus Vineyards Fortieth Anniversary in the wine business. It was a deep inky wine that was truly enjoyable, not as heady as their Special Select, but a good glass of Cab and not nearly as pricey as the Select is, as well. All in all, for a quick bite for dinner, it was a wonderful meal and I do look forward to the next time we go there, and I am sure we will.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

