Another Social Media Wine Story

I hate to be the bearer of bad news. I have to admit that I belong to a couple of Social Media sites, some are more business oriented and one is basically social. While I was trying to keep abreast of all the postings I received a private message from a friend that I had earlier wished a Happy Birthday along with other salutations to it. My friend asked me if I had seen the two pictures of wine that he had posted from Sicily. I told him that I had never had any wines from Sicily, and that I was curious about them and that I would check out the wines at a later point in time. I was intrigued and I looked forward to checking the postings. Imagine my surprise when I looked at the two bottles of wine and discovered that neither was from Sicily, but from Italy proper.

Madrigale Primitivo di Manduria Dolce Naturale 2011
The first bottle of wine was an easy one for me as it was Cantina Zaccagnini Montepulciano d’Abruzzo 2011. This is one of my favorite districts in Italy and I have written about the wines often. This Tuscan wine is made from the Montepulciano grape and truth be told, I have yet to have had a bad bottle of wine from this district, some may be a little lighter then others, but always a safe bottle to choose to accompany a dinner. I have written about a Pinot Grigio wine from this particular winemaker before, but I have not had this wine.

Cantina Zaccagnini dal tralcetto 2011
The other wine is quite fascinating to research; Madrigale Primitivo di Manduria Dolce Naturale 2011. This wine is from the Puglia district in the Southeastern part of the boot and is known for its wine as well as its olive oil. Primitivo is the only varietal that is allowed to be used for Primitivo di Manduria DOC, and this varietal is known here in the United States as Zinfandel. The Dolce Naturale DOCG is the sweeter variant of Primitivo di Manduria and has a stricter and higher classification. The grapes are dried on the vine, hence a higher concentration of sugar and a minimum alcohol proof of 13.5% and is only made in particular vintages, so it is a rarer wine to find. So I think my friend received two bottles of wine that he will enjoy for his birthday.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

