A Wine Tip through Social Media

“One of the best $13 bottles of wine. What’s your opinion John..?” is the message that was posted on my personal Facebook page the other day, with a photo of a particular wine. It was posted by an old friend of mine, going back to the days of my involvement in a youth group through my church. I know that he likes wines, because he has mentioned it to me, and we share a common consideration for Rioja wines.

Creta Roble
The photo that I am posting of the label is exactly as I received it, just with the name of the wine and the vintage year and at first I was perplexed as I did not recognize the name of wine. Since the label said Creta Roble 2011, I was not sure what to expect, since the two of us are Armenian by nationality, I immediately thought of the island of Crete and maybe he had found a wine in a Greek restaurant, but I discounted that thought immediately.

MarquesDeRiscal 1970
So I was off to do some more research, which I don’t mind, and I am always open to a wine suggestion, even from my Barber (which I have wrote about). It turns out that this wine is a pure Tempranillo wine from Ribero Del Duero in Spain, which fully explains why my friend enjoyed this wine, as this is the key varietal for Rioja wines from Spain. This is a wine that is made from a seventy year old vineyard and the wine is aged in older American and French Oak barrels. I also found out that “creta” means chalk in Spanish, a word that I must have missed in my classes of Spanish that I took. The “creta” refers to the chalky soil that is prevalent in the Ribero Del Duero. Another wine that I will be on the look out to try, and that is why Social Media can be a learning experience at times.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Wine Tip through Social Media

  1. Creta? Who knew!
    R
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

