My Second Anniversary as a Blogger

According to the all seeing and all knowing publisher of mine, it has been two years since I registered for an account. I have mentioned in my own non-technical style a lot of wine in that time, and perhaps to the chagrin of some there are still a lot more stories in this old raconteur. I am pondering that I have had the discipline to write over five hundred and fifty articles so far, and I am still having fun, most of the time. I am not the most knowledgeable author, and I am not sure that I could pass a taste for a sommelier, and then I would be a lousy one at that, because I would try to regale them with stories, rather then allow them to have dinner. I have discovered that there are some really friendly and great Bloggers that I have met, so far one in person, and I hope that in time I can meet more of you. I have also discovered that there are a group of Bloggers that for some odd reason want to “follow” you, in hopes of quid pro quo, and then you never hear from them again. Some of the Bloggers I will grant you, do not write about wine, but are doing other subjects and I try to follow them all.

The Wine Raconteur
Maybe there is something wrong with me, but I try to “like” and encourage every Blogger, especially that write about wine, if only marginally, as I know that it feels good to get a positive response from someone else. I am amazed at how indifferent some writers are towards their fellow writer, but I guess that is human nature and some people are just aloof and have no interest in anyone’s Blog except their own. I remember the day that I registered my name, and discovered that even with the myriad of wine blogs that my name was free and it was my first choice; I figured that was a good omen. I remember being daunted about writing my first article, and then I just sat down and wrote about six at the first sitting, and then I started to feel comfortable about it. Though to this day, I wonder if anyone cares, but I know that I have learned a lot more about wine since I began writing, and especially from reading all of the others that I follow.
I have always tried to work, and I am by no means a rich man (monetarily, but I feel rich in other ways), but I have had the good fortune to have enjoyed some legendary wines and some great meals. I have also had my share of mediocre and shabby wines and meals as well, and I even write about them. If one only drank Chateau Latour, one would have nothing to compare it to, and think that all wines should taste like that. I am an individual that enjoys to “wine and dine” as they used to say, in my Father’s generation. I hope that you enjoy that I try to make my stories personal, because the enjoyment of wine is personal, and that I tend to include my Bride in the stories when I feel that she contributes to the story, as she has contributed richly to my life.
I just went and reread my first article and I guess I can say that it still holds true and since it is short and sweet, I will just copy it here, rather then the use of hyper-links.

Ch Ausone 1957
Introduction
Posted on May 4, 2012 by thewineraconteur
My name is John Torosian and I have a passion for and romance for the wines. I can sing praises about the wonders of wine. People have suggested that I should start a blog and I thought first why should I blog, when there are great periodicals and websites that rate wines and technical facts. Well, currently I have the time to be reflective and retrospective. That would not be my intention, I am more a raconteur, and I shall wax poetic about stories and incidents that have fueled my ardent passion for the wines.
I came from humble beginnings growing up in southwest Detroit, not a major center for wines, especially in the sixties. It was a working class area, that had many watering holes, but they were establishments where one could have a few beers or shots with friends, not the place to study the nuances of the toil of the winemakers.
It is from this location, that I eventually discovered “the grape” and I have been discovering it ever since. At times I may seem to be rambling in my expositions, and I probably will. Stories may be short and sweet, or long depending on my muse.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to My Second Anniversary as a Blogger

  1. Two years? Huh. That makes mine two years old as well! We were just a few days apart in founding our blogs. What a journey it has been. It has been so great getting to know you through your writing, and both you and your bride in person. I agree that blogging can be such an enriching part of one’s life.

    Thanks for being around, for sticking around, and for regaling us with your tales. They never cease to amaze me. Here’s to many more years. And we need to toast to that in person, my friend.

    • I also remember wondering how to start. That first post seems so daunting, even when I think about it now. I asked my two best wine friends, ManSoo and Yutaka, who have both written about wine, and they said: Just start writing…and that’s what it took. I love your first post. It is so you.

    • Oliver,
      Thank you for all of your compliments through the two years, and it has been a pleasure to meet you and Nina. Let us look forward to a nice dinner and wine upon your return from the wonderful vacation you two have planned.
      Here is also a wish that you have many more years writing, especially about wines. May it never be a burden.
      – John

      • Yes, that would be wonderful. We will also buy a car once we’re back (this time for real, because we are also moving to graduate housing on north campus and a car will be more necessary then), so we are much more flexible then.

        An interesting point you are touching on with your wish that the writing may never be a burden. Definitely have had moments when I had to drag myself to writing again, especially after a hiatus. But it is always so rewarding once it happens…

      • That will be good to hear that you will be mobile. As for the writing aspect, I think you are a wordsmith, but I imagine (as a layman) going from writing “legalese” to prose, may sometimes cause the gears to get tangled up mentally, and cause the “burden.” Not to mention that you are probably thinking bilingually as you are typing. You are so talented.

    • Hey–I’m part of that two-year club, too. !! Maybe that has something to do with how we all found each other?

      I went into this blogging thing very unwillingly, but convinced I HAD to do it. I do, however, know that if you’re going to do anything, even something you don’t want to do, you had better give it your best effort or not bother with it at all. So I did, and it became something I really, really, like doing — mostly because of the people I’ve met through blogging.

      It really IS all about relationships.

  2. Congrats! Keep up the good work!

  3. Congratulations on your wonderful blog; I enjoy reading whenever there is a break in my studies. Looking forward to many more years of your tales. Cheers!

  4. talkavino says:

    Congratulations on the 2 successful years and many happy years ahead!

    • Anatoli,
      Thank you for your constant stops and your kind words, they mean a lot to me, and I will strive to keep readers like you amused with my meanderings about wine.
      – John

  5. Cheers to “good omens”. Keep up the great storytelling!
    Best regards,
    Ernest.

  6. Happy Anniversary John! Hopefully, one of these days are paths will cross and we can swap many a yarn about wine, blogging, and Oliver 😉

    • Jeff,
      That sounds great, maybe we can all meet in Plymouth and you can rediscover your old town that has changed into a “foodie” community.
      Thank you very much for all of your kind words through the years.
      – John

  7. timmilford says:

    Congratulations on your two years John! I enjoy reading your posts and look forward to many more in the future.

  8. foxress says:

    John, I agree with you. It really is a friendly group of wine bloggers here. What a great community that we get to be a part of! Congratulations on your anniversary!

    • Linda,
      It is a fine community that we are a part of and just think of the party we could have, if we all met somewhere. Thank you for all of your kind notes and for stopping by.
      – John

  9. Stefano says:

    Congratulations, John, on your two-year blog anniversary!
    I always enjoy your style and your gentleman-like approach to not only wine but life in general that so clearly transpires from your blog.
    There is a lot wisdom in what you write.
    Cheers to that.

    • Stefano,
      I am truly touched by such kind words. I think the enjoyment of wine is a much more genteel part of life, that removes us from the tedium of the daily grind and lets us relax and savor the moment and as well as the wine.
      – John

  10. dwdirwin says:

    Congratulations on a great milestone! Happy to hear it is still fun for you and we can count on more of your personalized-brand of storytelling in the future.

    • Danielle,
      Thank you for your stopping by and your kind words. Good luck with your new website and I shall look forward to continue reading your posts as well.
      – John

  11. Happy Bloggoversary, John! I hope you are having a special bottle to celebrate . . . Salud!

    • Thank you for all of your kind comments through the years, and I really did not have a special bottle for the moment, but one can always celebrate a belated event when the time is right.
      – John

Leave a Reply

