Are Wine Drinkers Eccentric?

Are wine drinkers eccentric, this has been a questioned that has bandied towards me on occasion by others curious about our ilk; I do not think of myself as eccentric, only because this word denotes wealth and I am certainly not wealthy by any stretch of the imagine.  I cannot speak for all of the other wine drinkers or the other wine Bloggers, but I can say that I have quirks.   I do think that I have tried to cultivate some appreciation for a diverse group of interests.

Chateau Cheval Blanc 1986

I enjoy clothes and dressing up, and in today’s society that is looked at rather askance.  I have always felt that it is better to be over dressed, rather then under dressed for an event.  I was raised that one should wear a suit to church, and that one should wear a black suit to a funeral, because it shows respect for the institutions.  Now I may carry it to extremes, because I learned how to dress from my Father and other male members of my family, and by osmosis I guess from the Rat Pack, that was so emulated as the doyens of good taste in the Fifties and the Sixties.  When I am dressed I always wear French cuffed shirts and I have a fine collection of cuff links, because of this.  I have a pair that is a cork screw with a cork, and my children have on different occasions bought me other sets that represent some of my other interests and hobbies.  Then there is the thing that I have about hats, which I always wear and I must admit that I have a shoe collection that is also extreme, actually I tend to be extreme about most items that I favor, my to my Bride’s chagrin at times.  The house also has a nice collection of art that we have collected, as well as a fine library.  There is nothing as fine as picking up a nice hard bound book with a raised spine and fine end papers to enhance the read, not to mention that I have a large dictionary on a stand in the library that I still go and consult, rather then using the internet all of the time.

 Cuff Links

Maybe wine drinkers have a peculiar gene that causes us to collect and to do research.  We enjoy reading about wines, the varietals and the different geographical areas and how they affect the wines.  We also tend to collect and amass wines.  We start small, but then somehow it kind of blossoms to the point that we do have a collection stored.  We take pride in the fact, that certain wines that we have purchased require cellaring time for additional aging and somehow we start recognizing that and we allow it to happen, because we taste some wines in restaurants and realize that the wine is too young and feisty and we start thinking “what would it taste like in five or ten years?”  I think also that wine drinkers are more eclectic in their drink preferences.   Think of all of the different wines we try, always looking for something new and interesting; rather than always having that same cocktail or that single malt Scotch.  We even tend to go against trends like how I wrote about the mystery of why Merlot has lost favor, but I promise you that I will not be seen like Miles opening up a bottle of Chateau Cheval Blanc from my cellar and drink it from a Styrofoam cup.

JAT at St Clair Inn DPS 1993

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Are Wine Drinkers Eccentric?

  1. NeuronTree says:

    I should hope I’m eccentric! Though I don’t think it’s all the classy and delightful ways of wine-drinkers. More along the lines of wobbly and lushy. I’d like to read more about wines, and learn about them. I’m an avid wine enjoyer, but my consumption expertise generally runs along side of which one on the shelf will make the slightest of dents in my pocket and is red. Hopefully I can remedy that and go on to be the delightful wine-drinker-kind-of-eccentric apposed to just plain lush, and not like grass 😉

    • Thank you for stopping by and I hope that you will enjoy some of my writings. Wine is always a learning experience, from my earliest recollections to this evening. Your given choice at any given time, you might not fully enjoy, but it will help you on your next selection.
      – John

  2. LOL… yes, we are, clearly… 😉

  3. I am afraid we are a bit eccentric, John!

Leave a Reply

