Gundlach Bundschu Mountain Cuvee 2010

A little while ago, I had the chance to enjoy this wine with some friends and it was a fine time.  We were enjoying the afternoon and everybody was happy.  We opened this bottle and we enjoyed the richness of this blend.  Then we enjoyed another bottle of it as well, with the same favorable appreciation.

Gundlach Bundschu Mountain Cuvee 2010

Gundlach Bundschu Winery is in Sonoma County, California and they have been making some fine wines and blends.  The estate was established in 1858 and has suffered the ups and downs of the wine industry and is still in the family.  They produce some fine estate varietal wines, but we were enjoying their Mountain Cuvee wine, which is a blend of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Zinfandel, Petit Verdot, Syrah and Malbec.

The winery was one of the first to go out and produce a Merlot to market under their name, and they are quite proud of the fact.  In a side note, I had written an article for the Monthly Wine Challenge where the theme was “Mystery.”  I went on to discuss how it was a mystery that Merlot was apparently shunned by today’s wine writers.  I have to say that it may have been my most popular article that I had written, from the favorable response from other Wine Bloggers, and I also discovered that I was not the only one that had this respect and enjoyment for Merlot wines.  One of the other Bloggers, namely SAHMmelier, actually redirected me to a “GunBun video” that I was not aware of.  This video actually validated my article as far as I was concerned (and I am sorry if that sounds conceited, it is not meant to be, but I just enjoyed the video and its message so much).

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gundlach Bundschu Mountain Cuvee 2010

  1. SAHMmelier says:

    Glad you liked it. If you click on the links from #mwwc7 announcement you’ll see that they are responsible for my foray into public writing. Love them and their wines.

Leave a Reply

